Jump to main content


Squads Named For Dubai Rugby Sevens

Squads Named For Dubai Rugby Sevens

The Ireland Women’s and Men’s Sevens squads to take part in the Emirates Airlines Dubai Rugby Sevens next week (December 3-5) have been named.

The Ireland Women’s team will take part in the first stage of the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series, while the Ireland Men will play in the Men’s Invitational tournament.
The Women’s side travel to Dubai as one of the core teams that will participate in the World Sevens Series, having qualified alongside Japan at the Women’s Sevens Dublin qualifying tournament in August. They are grouped with the USA, Canada and Fiji.
The Ireland Men will play in the Invitational tournament and will face Belgium 7s and UK side Apache on the opening day.

Speaking ahead of the Irish squads setting out for Dubai, Anthony Eddy, IRFU Director of Rugby Sevens, said: “The Dubai Sevens is the start of a very important number of months for our Sevens teams.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“The women have re-qualified for the World Sevens Series and will be testing themselves against the best teams in the world. They are looking forward to the upcoming challenge of the USA, Canada and Fiji.
“Our men’s team will also gain valuable experience competing in the tournament as we build towards the Olympic Repechage games in 2016.”

Read Kate Rowan’s interview with Ireland Women’s Sevens captain Lucy Mulhall and Anthony Eddy in the December issue of ‘In Touch’ – the digital magazine of Irish Rugby.

IRELAND WOMEN’S SEVENS Squad (HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series – Dubai, UAE – Thursday, December 3-Friday, December 4):

Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke/Ulster)
Megan Williams (St. Mary’s/Leinster) 
Sene Naoupu (Galwegians/Connacht) 
Claire Keohane (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum/Leinster) (capt)
Eimear Considine (TID) 
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Amee-Leigh Crowe (St. Mary’s/Munster)
Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht)
Audrey O’Flynn (TID)
Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/Leinster)

Ireland Women’s Sevens Fixtures –

Thursday, December 3:

USA v Ireland, 12.42pm local time/8.42am Irish time
Canada v Ireland, 3.16pm local time/11.16am Irish time
Fiji v Ireland, 6.35pm local time/2.35pm Irish time

Friday, December 4:

IRELAND MEN’S SEVENS Squad (Emirates Airline International Invitational Men’s Tournament – Dubai, UAE – Friday, December 4-Saturday, December 5):

Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
Aaron Cairns (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Tom Daly (Lansdowne/Leinster) (capt)
Barry Daly (UCD/Leinster)
Dan Goggin (Young Munster/Munster)
Foster Horan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Terry Kennedy (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Gearoid Lyons (Young Munster/Munster)
David McGuigan (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Rory O’Loughlin (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Nick Timoney (Queen’s University/Ulster)
Steve Toal-Lennon (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 
Ireland Men’s Sevens Fixtures –

Friday, December 4:

Belgium Rugby 7s v Ireland, 1pm local time/9am Irish time
Apache v Ireland, 4pm local time/12pm Irish time

Saturday, December 5:


Tickets for the Dubai Sevens at 7he Sevens Stadium can be purchased online at www.dubairugby7s.com or locally at selected Costa, MMI, Go Sport and dnata outlets, Bidi Bondi, 7he Sevens Stadium and Park ‘n’ Shop.