Jump to main content


Ireland Women’s Team Named For England Test

Ireland Women’s Team Named For England Test

The Ireland Women’s team to play England in an historic first autumn international has been named. There are six uncapped players included in Tom Tierney’s starting line-up.

New caps Jeamie Deacon of Blackrock and Mairead Coyne from Galwegians have been named on the wings with team captain Niamh Briggs at full-back.

Cill Dara’s Aine Donnelly will win her first cap in the centre alongside the experienced Jackie Shiels, with Coyne’s club-mate Sene Naoupu donning the number 10 jersey for the first time alongside regular scrum half Larissa Muldoon.
Cliodhna Moloney from Railway Union is named in the front row, while Highfield’s Elaine Anthony and Ciara Cooney (Railway Union) make up a new-look second row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In a strong back row unit, World Rugby Women’s Player of the Year nominee Sophie Spence will pack down with Toulouse recruits Paula Fitzpatrick and Heather O’Brien.

Speaking ahead of the game, Ireland Women’s head coach Tom Tierney said: “We are looking forward to the game this weekend. It’s the first time we have played an autumn international which is another step in the development in Women’s rugby.

“We have an opportunity to have a look at some new players and combinations building towards the Six Nations in the spring.”
Ireland take on their English counterparts at the Twickenham Stoop this coming Saturday. You can watch a live stream of the match on www.englandrugby.com. Tickets are available to buy here.

IRELAND WOMEN’S Team & Replacements (v England Women, Autumn Test Match, Twickenham Stoop, Saturday, November 14, 2015, kick-off 3pm):

15. Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
14. Jeamie Deacon (Blackrock/Leinster) *
13. Aine Donnelly (Cill Dara/Leinster) *
12. Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Exile)
11. Mairead Coyne (Galwegians/Connacht) *
10. Sene Naoupu (Galwegians/Connacht)
9. Larissa Muldoon (Skewen)
1. Ruth O’Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht)
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/Leinster) *
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
4. Elaine Anthony (Highfield/Munster) *
5. Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/Leinster) *
6. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
7. Paula Fitzpatrick (Toulouse)
8. Heather O’Brien (Toulouse)

16. Zoe Grattage (Tralee/Munster) *
17. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
18. Fiona O’Brien (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
19. Katie Norris (Blackrock/Leinster)
20. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster) *
21. Mary Healy (Galwegians/Connacht) *
22. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
23. Claire McLaughlin (Queen’s University/Ulster) *
* Denotes uncapped player at this level