Jump to main content


Munster Make Eight Changes For Scarlets Clash

Munster Make Eight Changes For Scarlets Clash

Munster head coach Anthony Foley makes eight changes to the team that defeated Glasgow Warriors for Friday’s GUINNESS PRO12 round 5 clash with the Scarlets in Llanelli (kick-off 7.05pm).

Jordan Coghlan will make his first competitive start for Munster, while Ronan O’Mahony is included in a matchday squad for the first time this season.

The only change in the front row comes at hooker with Duncan Casey joining Dave Kilcoyne and BJ Botha, and  in the second row Mark Chisholm moves to number 5 with Robin Copeland making his first second row start for the province.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Following a try-scoring cameo against Cardiff Blues last weekend, Coghlan makes his first PRO12 start for Anthony Foley’s men at openside flanker with blindside Dave O’Callaghan and number 8 CJ Stander completing the back row. Stander will once again captain the side for this weekend’s game.

A further five changes are seen across the backs. Cathal Sheridan and Tyler Bleyendaal come in at half-back, while Denis Hurley makes his first start of the season in forming a new centre partnership alongside the Academy’s David Johnston.

The final change comes in the back-three with Academy winger Stephen Fitzgerald (pictured above) starting on the right wing with Gerhard van den Heever and Andrew Conway remaining in situ on the left wing and full-back respectively.

Having successfully completed his rehabilitation, Ronan O’Mahony is in line to make his first appearance of the season after being named among the replacements.

In other news, Munster Rugby have confirmed today that Uruguayan prop Mario Sagario has signed a three-month contract with the province.

Sagario, who trained with the squad this week in Limerick and Cork, most recently started all of Uruguay’s Rugby World Cup pool games and has made 51 appearances for his country. The 29-year-old tighthead formerly played with French Pro D2 sides RC Massy and Dax.

MUNSTER (v Scarlets): Andrew Conway; Stephen Fitzgerald, David Johnston, Denis Hurley, Gerhard van den Heever; Tyler Bleyendaal, Cathal Sheridan; Dave Kilcoyne, Duncan Casey, BJ Botha, Robin Copeland, Mark Chisholm, Dave O’Callaghan, Jordan Coghlan, CJ Stander (capt).

Replacements: Niall Scannell, James Cronin, John Ryan, Dave Foley, Shane Buckley, Tomas O’Leary, Ian Keatley, Ronan O’Mahony.