Jump to main content


Jackson And Cave On The Bench For Ulster

Jackson And Cave On The Bench For Ulster

Ireland duo Paddy Jackson and Darren Cave have been included in Ulster’s squad for Friday’s GUINNESS PRO12 game against Cardiff Blues at Kingspan Stadium (kick-off 7.35pm).

Having returned from Rugby World Cup duty this week, Paddy Jackson and Darren Cave have been named among the replacements, with Neil Doak making just two changes to his starting line-up.

After coming back from injury to earn a place on the bench last time out, out-half Ian Humphreys will start his first competitive match of the season. He will combine with Paul Marshall at half-back and will have Stuart McCloskey and Sam Arnold alongside him in midfield. The back-three of Craig Gilroy, Andrew Trimble (pictured below) and Louis Ludik are retained.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Lewis Stevenson is the only change up front, taking the place of Dan Tuohy, who suffered concussion in the defeat to Edinburgh. Franco van der Merwe is his partner in the second row.

Callum Black, stand-in captain Rob Herring and Wiehahn Herbst will continue in the front row, with Roger Wilson, Sean Reidy and number 8 Nick Williams again making up the back row.

Ricky Lutton and Peter Browne slot back in on the bench, providing cover for the forwards along with John Andrew, Andrew Warwick and Willie Faloon. Jackson and Cave, along with scrum half David Shanahan, are the reserve backs.

Show your support for Alzheimer’s Society’s ‘Don’t keep it under your Hat’ campaign by wearing a funky hat to the game. Pre-match entertainment includes a Photo Booth, Deep RiverRock passing challenge, live music in the Clubhouse Bar and prizes for the best head gear!

Ulster v Cardiff Blues match tickets are still available and can be purchased by clicking here.

ULSTER (v Cardiff Blues): Louis Ludik; Andrew Trimble, Sam Arnold, Stuart McCloskey, Craig Gilroy; Ian Humphreys, Paul Marshall; Callum Black, Rob Herring (capt), Wiehahn Herbst, Lewis Stevenson, Franco van der Merwe, Roger Wilson, Sean Reidy, Nick Williams.

Replacements: John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Ricky Lutton, Peter Browne, Willie Faloon, David Shanahan, Paddy Jackson, Darren Cave.