Jump to main content


Ireland at the 2019 Rugby World Cup

Barritt Returns To England Midfield

Barritt Returns To England Midfield

Saracens centre Brad Barritt returns to the England starting line-up for Saturday’s final Rugby World Cup warm-up match against Ireland at Twickenham Stadium (kick-off 2.30pm).

Brad Barritt’s last Test appearance came in a 26-17 victory over Australia in November of last year before injury ruled him out of the ensuing RBS 6 Nations.

He replaces Luther Burrell as Jonathan Joseph’s midfield partner in one of five changes to Stuart Lancaster’s team from the 25-20 loss to France in Paris two weeks ago.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Elsewhere, Anthony Watson returns to the right wing in place of Jack Nowell, while Geoff Parling, Tom Wood and Gloucester’s Ben Morgan come in for Joe Launchbury, James Haskell and Billy Vunipola respectively in the pack.

Owen Farrell joins Bath’s Sam Burgess and fellow Saracen Richard Wigglesworth as back-line options on the replacements bench, with Northampton Saints prop Kieran Brookes also looking to make an impact.

England head coach Lancaster said: “We are excited about this weekend and playing at home and it is another opportunity for these 23 players as we finalise our preparations for the Rugby World Cup.

“It’s great to see Brad back along with the guys that missed the Six Nations such as Ben Morgan, Joe Launchbury and Owen Farrell, who now have a Test match under their belts.

“It leaves us with lots of options both starting and from the bench. The players know that having made the 31 (for the World Cup) is not enough and we have seen in training how determined they are to be in that squad to play Fiji in the opening game of the tournament.”

ENGLAND Team & Replacements (v Ireland, 2015 Rugby World Cup Warm-Up Match, Twickenham Stadium, Saturday, September 5, kick-off 2.30pm):

15. Mike Brown (Harlequins)
14. Anthony Watson (Bath)
13. Jonathan Joseph (Bath)
12. Brad Barritt (Saracens)
11. Jonny May (Gloucester)
10. George Ford (Bath)
9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
1. Joe Marler (Harlequins)
2. Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
4. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
5. Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs)
6. Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)
7. Chris Robshaw (Harlequins) (capt)
8. Ben Morgan (Gloucester)


16. Jamie George (Saracens)
17. Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
18. Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints)
19. Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
20. Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
21. Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)
22. Owen Farrell (Saracens)
23. Sam Burgess (Bath)