Jump to main content


Megarity Selected As Ulster Women’s Captain

Megarity Selected As Ulster Women’s Captain

Cooke RFC’s Lesley Megarity has been selected as captain of the Ulster Women’s team ahead of the start of their Interprovincial campaign later this month.

Lesley Megarity leads a youthful Ulster Women’s panel of 36 players, which includes 12 uncapped at senior provincial level.

Commenting on her appointment as captain, the 26-year-old hooker said: “I’ve only ever wanted to represent my province and to be chosen to captain the team is definitely the proudest moment of my life. I will give it my all.”

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Coach Philip Doyle added: “I really like her attitude towards the game and to getting the job done. Although she is quiet off the pitch, I am confident that she will lead from the front. Lesley has a real no-nonsense approach yet understands the role of her team-mates and has a real sense of how they want to play the game.”

Megarity will be supported in the role by vice-captain and veteran of Ulster and Irish rugby, Grace Davitt. Lesley and Grace know each other well through club rugby at Cooke and this partnership should work very well for the team.

A total of 12 clubs are represented in the current Ulster Women’s squad, which will begin the interpros on against Leinster at Portadown RFC on Saturday, August 22 (kick-off 3pm). They will then play Munster away (Saturday, August 29) before a final round clash with Connacht at Portadown RFC on Saturday, September 5.

ULSTER WOMEN’S Squad (2015/16 Season): Amy Davis (Cooke), Amy O’Neill (Blackrock)*, Arlene McLaughlin (Omagh)*, Beth Cregan (Cooke), Claire McLaughlin (Queen’s University), Colette Broome (Queen’s University), Eliza Downey (Cooke), Erin Caughey (Queen’s University), Grace Davitt (Cooke) (vice-capt), Hannah Burns (Newry)*, Ilse van Staden (Cooke), Imogen Porter (Queen’s University), Jamie Love (City of Derry)*, Jemma Jackson (Queen’s University), Kathryn Dane (Enniskillen)*, Kelly Gormley (City of Derry)*, Laura Johnston (Cooke), Lauren Maginnes (Queen’s University), Lesley Megarity (Cooke) (capt), Maeve Liston (Ballyshannon)*, Marita Gordon (City of Derry)*, Naomi McCullagh (Omagh)*, Niamh Fitzgerald (Old Belvedere)*, Nikita Armstrong (Cooke), Noreen Nethercott (Enniskillen), Peita McAlister (Queen’s University), Sabrina Higgins (Carrick), Sarah Gibson (Queen’s University)*, Shannen Lane (Cavan)*, Shannon Heapes (City of Derry), Shirelle Wilson (Cooke), Sorcha Chipperfield (Cooke), Stacey Sloan (City of Derry), Steffi Clarke (Queen’s University), Teah Maguire (Cooke), Zoe Templeton (Queen’s University).

* Denotes uncapped player

ULSTER WOMEN’S Management Team –

Coaches – Philip Doyle & Jarrett Truscott
Team Manager – Kerry Spence
Resources Co-ordinator – Andy Weir
Physio – Andrew Creaney
Strength & Conditioning Coaches – Paul Heasley & Stewart Walker