Jump to main content



Temple Hill To Host Ulster Bank Bateman Cup Final

Temple Hill To Host Ulster Bank Bateman Cup Final

Cork Constitution’s hopes of claiming a hat-trick of Ulster Bank Bateman Cup titles have been boosted with the news that they will have home advantage for the April 18 final against Clontarf

An IRFU representative oversaw a coin toss between the respective club Presidents to decide the venue for this season’s Bateman Cup final, and Cork Constitution have won the right to play the game on home soil.

This is the second year in the row that Temple Hill, the home ground of Cork Con, will host the cup decider. Last May, at the same venue, the Leesiders retained the trophy with a 19-6 win over UCD.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The 2014/15 Ulster Bank Bateman Cup final between Division 1A rivals Cork Constitution and Clontarf will take place at Temple Hill on Saturday, April 18. The game will kick off at 2.35pm, with live coverage on RTÉ 2.

Clontarf qualified for the final by beating Ballynahinch away, with out-half David Joyce starring in a 24-20 victory for Andy Wood’s men. The north Dubliners followed up, a week later, with an impressive 43-30 league win over Cork Con at Castle Avenue.

Constitution, who are fighting to join ‘Tarf in the Division 1A play-offs, reached the Bateman Cup final with a 36-25 semi-final dismissal of Buccaneers at Dubarry Park. Tries from Darragh Lyons and Alan Ross effectively sealed the result by the 62nd minute.

Clontarf’s most recent trip to Temple Hill, back in mid-November, ended in a 13-10 defeat. Flanker James Murphy’s late try proved decisive for Tom Tierney’s charges that day.

Munster clubs, including Bruff (2011) and Garryowen (2012), have dominated the Bateman Cup since the IRFU reintroduced the four-team format four years ago. Cork Con were also All-Ireland Cup winners in 2006 and 2010.


CORK CONSTITUTION v CLONTARF, Temple Hill, 2.35pm (live RTÉ 2)

Competition Rules:

(i) If teams are tied at full-time, extra-time of 10 minutes each way will be played
(ii) If still tied, the team that has scored the most tries will be the winners
(iii) If still tied, the team who scored the first try will be the winners
(iv) If no tries have been scored, the team that scored the first points in the final will be declared the winners
(v) If the final is scoreless, penalty kicks will be taken to decide the winners

All-Ireland Cup Champions’ Roll Of Honour:

2013/14 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2012/13 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2011/12 – Garryowen (Bateman Cup)
2010/11 – Bruff (Bateman Cup)
2009/10 – Cork Constitution
2008/09 – Ballynahinch
2007/08 – Shannon
2006/07 – Garryowen
2005/06 – Cork Constitution