Jump to main content


Ulster Bank League – How It Stands

Ulster Bank League – How It Stands

The final rounds of the Ulster Bank league loom large and with a new structure in place for next season we take a look at how things are panning out.

Division 1A
Lansdowne and Terenure College have secured home semi-finals in Div1A with top seed Lansdowne awaiting the final round of matches to see who will secure the fourth play-off place.   Ballynahinch currently lie in fourth spot but Young Munster, Old Belvedere, Cork Constitution and UCD all have a chance of finishing in fourth spot.
Terenure will host reigning champions Clontarf at Lakelands in the other semi-final. The semi-finals will take place on the 25th and 26th April with the Div1A final taking place in the Aviva Stadium on Saturday 9th May.
Dolphin have been relegated to Div1B with St Marys College or UCD likely to feature in a relegation play-off against either Galwegians,  Garryowen or Dublin University 
Division 1B
Galwegians host Garryowen on the final day of the regular season with the winner gaining automatic promotion to Div1A.
Corinthians and Malone are relegated from Div1B to Div2A.  Old Wesley are the Div 2A champions and will be promoted to Div1B along with either Blackrock College or Skerries.
Division 2A
For the 2015/16 season Div2A  will include Corinthians and Malone, relegated from Div1B, and the teams ranked 3 to 10 in Div2a which includes; Skerries, Banbridge, Cashel and Thomond,  and four from the following six clubs; Naas and Queens University, NUIM Barnhall, Nenagh Ormond,  UCC and City of Derry whose fate will be decided by the last round of matches.

Old Wesley were crowned champions last Saturday and move up to Division 1B.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Division 2B
The Clubs that place 11-16th in Div2A will form a revised 10 team Div2B with the top four ranked Clubs from the current Div2B. The bottom four clubs from Div2A; Rainey OB, Dungannon, Seapoint and Bective Rangers will be in Div2b next season and they will be joined by three from NUIM Barnhall, Nenagh Ormond, UCC and City of Derry who also remain in the hunt to secure Div2A status.
The runaway winners of Div2B Highfield have secured a place in the revised Div2B for next season and will be joined by three from Greystones, Tullamore, City of Armagh or Sunday’s Well

Division 2C
The Clubs ranked 5-13th in Div2B will form Div2C next season along with the winner of the play-off between the 14th ranked Div2B club and the winner of the Provincial Qualifying League Championship.  Either De La Salle Palmerston or Boyne will be the Div 2B club in this match.
Ards are relegated from the All Ireland League and play De La Salle Palmerston on the final day of the season who, along with Richmond, are looking to avoid the second automatic relegation spot
Clonmel lead the way in the Provincial Qualifying League Championship following an impressive victory over ConnemaraDundalk also got their campaign off to a winning start by beating Instonians.