Jump to main content



Three Irish In The Running For RBS 6 Nations Player Award

Three Irish In The Running For RBS 6 Nations Player Award

Voting is now open for the 2015 RBS 6 Nations Player of the Championship, with three Ireland players – captain Paul O’Connell and backs Robbie Henshaw and Conor Murray – shortlisted for the award.

Click here to make your choice. 12 players are included on the shortlist for the 2015 RBS 6 Nations Player of the Championship. Voting closes at midnight on Wednesday so move fast!

Five of the countries have players on the shortlist with back-to-back champions Ireland and runners-up England combining to make up seven of the nominees.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

For the men in green, captain Paul O’Connell is joined on the list by scrum half Conor Murray and centre Robbie Henshaw.

England have emerging stars George Ford and Jonathan Joseph, who also finished as the tournament’s top points and try scorers respectively, along with Billy Vunipola and Ben Youngs.

Wales and Scotland have two nominees each, Dan Biggar and Alun Wyn Jones for the former and Jonny Gray and Stuart Hogg for the latter. And last but by no means least, Italy have one sole representative on the list, captain and talisman Sergio Parisse.

How the selection was made:

Throughout the 2015 RBS 6 Nations, each player has been awarded (or deducted) points based on statistical performance across different action categories that cover all aspects of the game.

To ensure fairness, the RBS 6 Nations analysts have weighted the importance of different actions depending on different positions. These categories have been collated to give each player an overall performance score.

The top scoring players are listed below in alphabetical order. Click here to vote now!

Biggar, Dan (WAL)
Ford, George (ENG)
Gray, Jonny (SCO)
Henshaw, Robbie (IRE)
Hogg, Stuart (SCO)
Jones, Alun Wyn (WAL)
Joseph, Jonathan (ENG)
Murray, Conor (IRE)
O’Connell, Paul (IRE)
Parisse, Sergio (ITA)
Vunipola, Billy (ENG)
Youngs, Ben (ENG)