Jump to main content


50th Cap For Briggs In Unchanged Ireland Women’s Team

50th Cap For Briggs In Unchanged Ireland Women’s Team

The Ireland Women’s team to face Scotland in the final game of the Women’s RBS 6 Nations at Broadwood Stadium on Sunday (kick-off 1pm) has been named.

Head coach Tom Tierney has kept faith with the same side that overcame Wales 20-0 in Swansea last week, with experienced number 8 Heather O’Brien recovering from the injury that forced her off in the first half.

It is cap number 50 for full-back and captain Niamh Briggs, who made her debut for Ireland against Italy back in 2008. She will join a select band of players who have played 50 times for the Ireland Women, including her current team-mates Gillian Bourke (50) and Tania Rosser (57).

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Fresh from whitewashing the Welsh, the girls in green head to Scotland looking to claim the Triple Crown and a possible RBS 6 Nations title. They will know exactly what they have to do in order to be crowned champions as England host France at Twickenham on Saturday night.

Previewing the final round clash, Tierney said: “It’s been a huge three months, a lot of change and getting to know people and new ways of doing things on the field. Thankfully the quality of the players has shone through in the results and fingers crossed Scotland will be another win.

“We are going to be mentally ready to take Scotland on its merits. We have to win the game first before we look at anything (regarding chasing points). We’re going to concentrate on our basics, both in defence and attack, and how we go about the first 10, 15, 20 minutes and set the scene for ourselves. We just work our way through the game and keep doing what we’ve been doing throughout the Six Nations.”

Sunday afternoon’s game will be broadcast live on RTÉ Two Television and RTÉ 2fm Radio. Tickets are available for adults (£5), while under-18s, students and over-60s go free. Turnstiles open at 12pm – Broadwood Stadium will be selling tickets on the day. Buy ticket(s) here.

IRELAND WOMEN’S Team & Replacements (v Scotland Women, 2015 Women’s RBS 6 Nations, Broadwood Stadium, Cumbernauld, Sunday, March 22, kick-off 1pm):
15. Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
14. Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
13. Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
12. Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Exile)
11. Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht)
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
9. Larissa Muldoon (Skewen)     
1. Ruth O’Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht)
2. Gillian Bourke (Olympico de Pozuelo)
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
4. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
5. Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
6. Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
8. Heather O’Brien (Highfield/Munster)

16. Sarah Mimnagh (Wasps/Exile)
17. Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians/Munster)
18. Fiona O’Brien (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
19. Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
20. Katie Norris (Blackrock/Leinster)
21. Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Leinster)
22. Sene Naoupu (Galwegians/Connacht)
23. Aoife Doyle (Shannon/Munster)

IRELAND WOMEN’S Management Team –

Anthony Eddy – Director of Sevens and Women’s Rugby
Tom Tierney – Head Coach
Declan O’Brien – Assistant Coach
Derek Dowling – Scrum Coach
Jean Casey – Team Manager
Marian Earls – Strength and Conditioning Co-ordinator
Lukasz Kirszenstein – Strength and Conditioning Coach
Brian Fitzgerald – Video Analyst
Lucy Soden – Team Doctor
Ulrik McCarthy – Physio
Dom Hoban – Physio
Nora Ni Fhlannagain – Nutritionist
Carmel O’Dwyer – Squad Co-ordinator
Maria Boland – Media Officer

IRELAND WOMEN’S 2015 RBS 6 Nations Fixtures/Results:

Friday, February 6: Italy 5 Ireland 30, Stadio Mario Lodigiani, Florence

Friday, February 13: Ireland 5 France 10, Ashbourne RFC

Friday, February 27: Ireland 11 England 8, Ashbourne RFC

Sunday, March 15: Wales 0 Ireland 20, St. Helen’s, Swansea

Sunday, March 22: Scotland v Ireland, Broadwood Stadium, Cumbernauld, 1pm (Tickets £5 adults/no charge for OAPs/students/children) (live RTÉ 2/RTÉ 2fm)