Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland Under-20 Team Named For Final Game

Ireland Under-20 Team Named For Final Game

The Ireland Under-20 team, sponsored by PwC, to play Scotland Under-20s in the final round of the U-20 RBS 6 Nations in Galashiels on Friday (kick-off 7.30pm) has been named.

The selected Ireland Under-20 side sees four changes, including a positional switch, to the one that lost out to Wales in the last round.
A rejigged pack sees Sligo prop Conan O’Donnell come in for his first start at this level, joining Jeremy Loughman and hooker Zack McCall in the front row.

Alex Thompson and David O’Connor resume their second row partnership having been paired together for the Italy, France and England games. Josh Murphy reverts to the back row where he joins Nick Timoney and regular number 8 Lorcan Dow.
Front rowers Michael Lagan and Oisin Heffernan are named among the replacements along with UCD lock Jack Dwan who comes into the matchday 23 for the first time.
Head coach Nigel Carolan said: “We have always said that this tournament is about building players for the future and empowering them to react to what happens on the pitch.
“While we were disappointed with our performance against Wales last Friday, the lads have responded well in training and are looking forward to making amends this Friday at Netherdale.
“Scotland will present us with another tough challenge but we are confident that we can finish this campaign on a high.”
IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements (v Scotland Under-20s, 2015 Under-20 RBS 6 Nations, Netherdale, Galashiels, Friday, March 20, kick-off 7.30pm):

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

15. Billy Dardis (UCD/Leinster)
14. Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians/Connacht)
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)
12. Sam Arnold (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
11. Stephen Fitzgerald (Shannon/Munster)
10. Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
9. Nick McCarthy (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
1. Jeremy Loughman (UCD/Leinster)
2. Zack McCall (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
3. Conan O’Donnell (Sligo/NUIG/Connacht)
4. David O’Connor (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
5. Alex Thompson (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
6. Josh Murphy (UCD/Leinster)
7. Nick Timoney (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
8. Lorcan Dow (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)

16. Adam McBurney (Ballymena/Ulster)
17. Michael Lagan (Ballymena/Ulster)
18. Oisin Heffernan (Terenure College/Leinster)
19. Jack Dwan (UCD/Leinster)
20. Stephen McVeigh (Buccaneers/Connacht)
21. Connor Young (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
22. Joey Carbery (UCD/Leinster)
23. Jacob Stockdale (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster) 

IRELAND UNDER-20 Management Team –

Nigel Carolan – Head Coach
Colin McEntee – Assistant Coach/High Performance Manager
John Fogarty – Assistant Coach/Scrum Coach
Steven Aboud – Assistant Coach/Head of Technical Direction
Hendrik Kruger – Team Manager
Sinéad Bennett – Squad Co-ordinator
Garrett Coughlan – Physio
Will Duggan – Doctor
Eamonn Flanagan – Strength and Conditioning Coach
Lar Hogan – Baggage Master
Gareth Rossi – Massage Therapist
Jim Herring – Performance Analyst
Maria Boland – Media Officer

IRELAND UNDER-20s’ 2015 RBS 6 Nations Fixtures/Results:

Friday, February 6: Italy U-20s 15 Ireland U-20s 47, Stadio Pozzi Lamarmora, Biella
Friday, February 13: Ireland U-20s 37 France U-20s 20, Dubarry Park
Friday, February 27: Ireland U-20s 14 England U-20s 19, Donnybrook
Friday, March 13: Wales U-20s 19 Ireland U-20s 12, Parc Eirias, Colwyn Bay
Friday, March 20: Scotland U-20s v Ireland U-20s, Netherdale, Galashiels, 7.30pm