Jump to main content


Shiels To Start For Ireland Women Against Wales

Shiels To Start For Ireland Women Against Wales

The Ireland Women’s team to face Wales in the fourth round of the Women’s RBS 6 Nations Championship on Sunday afternoon has been named.

Head coach Tom Tierney has made a one change to the team that overcame England 11-8 in Ashbourne last time out.
Katie Fitzhenry has been ruled out of the game due to an ankle injury she picked up in training last weekend. Jackie Shiels is named in the centre with Aoife Doyle taking her spot on the replacements bench.

It will also be a big day for hooker Gillian Bourke (pictured below) as she wins her 50th cap for Ireland on Sunday. She is the second player in the current squad to achieve the feat after scrum half Tania Rosser (56 caps).

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“It was great to get a win against England a fortnight ago. It has left us in a good position for the final two rounds of the Championship, but we are always looking for improvements,” said Tierney.
“We are not underestimating Wales, they are a strong side and we have no doubt they will bring their all with them for the home crowd. If we do the small things right we will be in good shape.”

Sunday’s match will be streamed live by Welsh TV channel S4C and RTÉ 2fm will also have live commentary from Michael Corcoran.

IRELAND WOMEN’S Team & Replacements (v Wales Women, 2015 Women’s RBS 6 Nations, St. Helen’s, Swansea RFC, Sunday, March 15, kick-off 12pm):

15. Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
14. Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
13. Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
12. Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Exile)
11. Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht)
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
9. Larissa Muldoon (Skewen)
1. Ruth O’Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht)
2. Gillian Bourke (Olympico de Pozuelo)
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
4. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
5. Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
6. Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
8. Heather O’Brien (Highfield/Munster)


16. Sarah Mimnagh (Wasps/Exile)
17. Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians/Munster)
18. Fiona O’Brien (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
19. Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
20. Katie Norris (Blackrock/Leinster)
21. Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Leinster)
22. Sene Naoupu (Galwegians/Connacht)
23. Aoife Doyle (Shannon/Munster)

IRELAND WOMEN’S Management Team –

Anthony Eddy – Director of Sevens and Women’s Rugby
Tom Tierney – Head Coach
Declan O’Brien – Assistant Coach
Derek Dowling – Scrum Coach
Jean Casey – Team Manager
Marian Earls – Strength and Conditioning Co-ordinator
Lukasz Kirszenstein – Strength and Conditioning Coach
Brian Fitzgerald – Video Analyst
Lucy Soden – Team Doctor
Ulrik McCarthy – Physio
Dom Hoban – Physio
Nora Ni Fhlannagain – Nutritionist
Carmel O’Dwyer – Squad Co-ordinator
Maria Boland – Media Officer

IRELAND WOMEN’S 2015 RBS 6 Nations Fixtures/Results:

Friday, February 6: Italy 5 Ireland 30, Stadio Mario Lodigiani, Florence

Friday, February 13: Ireland 5 France 10, Ashbourne RFC

Friday, February 27: Ireland 11 England 8, Ashbourne RFC

Sunday, March 15: Wales v Ireland, St. Helen’s, Swansea, 12pm (Tickets: £10 adults/no charge for OAPs/students/children) (Stream: www.S4C.co.uk)

Sunday, March 22: Scotland v Ireland, Broadwood Stadium, Cumbernauld, 1pm (Tickets £5 adults/no charge for OAPs/students/children) (Stream: tbc)