Jump to main content



Holland And Wilson Added To Ireland Squad

Holland And Wilson Added To Ireland Squad

Ireland team manager Michael Kearney has said that number 8 Jamie Heaslip’s return date from injury is still uncertain. Heaslip, an absentee for this Sunday’s RBS 6 Nations clash with England, broke three vertebrae in his back during the win over France.

The initial prognosis was that Jamie Heaslip would be sidelined for four to six weeks. But despite the likes of Kieran Marmion, Nathan White and Robbie Diack being able to return to rehab at their provinces, Heaslip will remain in Ireland camp.

Ireland team manager Michael Kearney confirmed: “Jamie is rehabbing his injury in camp this week and at this stage it is too early to say when he will be available to play. He’s just in and he’s working with the physios and the medics, but (he’s doing) very little. I can’t really say (what he’s been working on). He wasn’t out on the pitch this morning, so I’m not exactly sure what he is up to.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“We couldn’t say when he will be available. It is just tough to say at this stage. It’s just for him to come in and work with the medical team, no other reason than that. The hope would be that he would be back for the Wales game (on Saturday, March 14).

“It was initially diagnosed as a four-to-six week injury. Four weeks would put him back in contention for the Wales to the day. That would certainly be the hope but it is far too early to say. He’s got a lot of progress to make before we could be certain about it.”

Jonathan Sexton, Ireland’s man-of-the-match against France, got some further game-time when he played for Racing Metro 92 against Clermont Auvergne in the Top 14 over the weekend. Everyone in the assembled Irish squad trained today bar Heaslip.

Kearney added: “Johnny looks great. He got on really well (against Clermont), playing for 64-65 minutes I think. He came in last night, trained fully this morning. All systems go with Johnny. Iain Henderson suffered a dead leg and some bruising around the knee (playing for Ulster against Edinburgh) but is expected to train fully this week.

Tommy O’Donnell suffered a concussion (in Munster’s draw with the Scarlets) at the weekend and he has reacted well to the return-to-play protocols. He did some running this morning and came through that well.

“We’ll just have to wait and see how Tommy progresses over the next three or four days. But we are hopeful that he will be available for selection.

Richardt Strauss has completed his return-to-play protocols and is available to train fully this week. Kieran Marmion suffered shoulder bruising and has stayed in Connacht for his rehab. Both Robbie Diack and Nathan White suffered back spasms. They will rehab in their respective provinces.”

It was confirmed earlier today that forwards Billy Holland (Munster) and Roger Wilson (Ulster) have been called up to train with the Irish squad ahead of Sunday’s RBS 6 Nations showdown with England.

IRELAND Squad (2015 RBS 6 Nations Championship Round 3):

Backs (17) –

Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster)                                                 
Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)                                   
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster)
Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)
Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
Jared Payne (Ulster)
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92)
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Forwards (19) –

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster)                          
Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Billy Holland (Cork Constitution/Munster)                                                                           
Mike McCarthy (Leinster)
Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)
Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster)
Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Roger Wilson (Ulster)

Not considered due to injury:

James Cronin (Dolphin/Munster)
Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster)   
Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)                              
Nathan White (Galwegians/Connacht)