Jump to main content



Semi-Final Clashes Confirmed In Bateman Cup

Semi-Final Clashes Confirmed In Bateman Cup

The draw for the semi-finals of the Ulster Bank Bateman Cup has taken place, with the four provincial cup winners battling it out for the prestigious All-Ireland title.

Last year’s Bateman Cup winners Cork Constitution face a trip to Athlone to take on Division 1B side Buccaneers, while the all-Division 1A meeting of Ballynahinch and reigning Ulster Bank League champions Clontarf will take place at Ballymacarn Park.

The two semi-final matches will be played on Saturday, March 21 with the later kick-off time of 4.30pm due to Ireland’s RBS 6 Nations game against Scotland at 2.30pm that day.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Clontarf were 27-16 winners over ‘Hinch when the teams clashed at Castle Avenue in November, and they are due to meet again in the last round of the league campaign on April 11.

Connacht Senior Cup champions Buccaneers last played in the Bateman Cup in 2012 when they lost 14-3 to Garryowen in a Dubarry Park semi-final, while Leinster representatives Clontarf’s most recent All-Ireland Cup outing was back in November 2009 when they were beaten by Old Belvedere in round 3.

Ballynahinch, meanwhile, will be hoping to recapture the glory days of 2009. They famously lifted the All-Ireland Cup trophy six years ago thanks to a memorable 17-6 final victory over Cork Constitution.

Having retained the Munster Senior Cup last month, Cork Con will be chasing an All-Ireland Cup three-in-a-row following on from their 2013 and 2014 successes. They beat UCD 19-6 in last year’s televised Bateman Cup final at Temple Hill.

Indeed, Munster clubs, including Bruff (2011) and Garryowen (2012), have dominated the Bateman Cup since the IRFU reintroduced the four-team format four years ago. Cork Con were also All-Ireland Cup winners in 2006 and 2010.


BALLYNAHINCH v CLONTARF, Ballymacarn Park, 4.30pm


Competition Rules:

(i) If teams are tied at full-time, extra-time of 10 minutes each way will be played
(ii) If still tied, the team that has scored the most tries will be the winners
(iii) If still tied, the away team will be declared the winners

All-Ireland Cup Champions’ Roll Of Honour:

2013/14 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2012/13 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2011/12 – Garryowen (Bateman Cup)
2010/11 – Bruff (Bateman Cup)
2009/10 – Cork Constitution
2008/09 – Ballynahinch
2007/08 – Shannon
2006/07 – Garryowen
2005/06 – Cork Constitution