Jump to main content



Jones To Captain Wolfhounds Against Saxons

Jones To Captain Wolfhounds Against Saxons

Full-back Felix Jones will captain a strong Ireland Wolfhounds team, sponsored by Three, against England Saxons at Irish Independent Park in Cork on Friday night (kick-off 7.45pm).

The only uncapped player in the starting line-up is Jack Conan who lines out at number 8 and he is joined in the back row by Sean O’Brien and Dominic Ryan.

Iain Henderson continues his return from injury, locking down in the second row alongside Mike McCarthy, while the front row consists of Mike Ross, Richardt Strauss and Jack McGrath.
Kieran Marmion will combine with Ian Madigan at half-back with Gordon D’Arcy and Keith Earls forming the centre partnership. Captain Felix Jones is joined in the back-three by Fergus McFadden and Luke Fitzgerald.
Front row replacements for Friday’s ‘A’ international fixture include Rob Herring, Michael Bent and Nathan White, while Robbie Diack and Eoin McKeon provide cover for the back five and reserve backs Isaac Boss, Noel Reid and Craig Gilroy complete the bench.
Tickets for the game, which will be shown live on RTÉ 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD, are available from Ticketmaster.ie.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

IRELAND WOLFHOUNDS Team & Replacements (v England Saxons, ‘A’ International Match, Irish Independent Park, Cork, Friday, January 30, kick-off 7.45pm):
15. Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster) (capt)
14. Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
13. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
12. Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
11. Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)
10. Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
9. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)
1. Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
2. Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)
3. Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
4. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
5. Mike McCarthy (Leinster)
6. Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
7. Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)
8. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *


16. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
17. Michael Bent (Leinster)
18. Nathan White (Galwegians/Connacht) *
19. Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster)
20. Eoin McKeon (Corinthians/Connacht) *
21. Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster)
22. Noel Reid (Clontarf/Leinster)
23. Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster)

* Denotes uncapped player at Test level