Jump to main content


Earls And Hurley Pair Up For Munster

Earls And Hurley Pair Up For Munster

Munster head coach Anthony Foley has named his side to face Sale Sharks in the province’s final European Champions Cup game of the season at Thomond Park on Sunday (kick-off 3.15pm).

Regular full-back Felix Jones failed to come through a late fitness test and will miss this weekend’s clash due to a bruised knee.

It is as you were in the front five with James Cronin, Duncan Casey and BJ Botha forming the front row while Dave Foley and Paul O’Connell combine again in the second row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the back row Dave O’Callaghan (pictured below) comes in at blindside flanker with Tommy O’Donnell filling the openside berth once more and captain Peter O’Mahony making the move to number 8 for the first time this season.

Duncan Williams and Ian Keatley continue at half-back with the fit-again Keith Earls making his first start since returning from injury alongside Denis Hurley in the centre.

Following his European debut last weekend, Ronan O’Mahony makes his first Champions Cup start with Andrew Conway remaining on the opposite wing, while Simon Zebo moves to full-back for what will be his 80th Munster appearance.

The replacements bench sees the inclusion of the returning Robin Copeland and Ivan Dineen who is in line to make his first European appearance if sprung from the bench.

Tickets are still available to purchase online by clicking here with prices starting from €;20 and Terrace Family Packs from €;60. Tickets can also be purchased at the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Irish Independent Park and Thomond Park, by calling 0818 719 300, or at the ground on matchday.

MUNSTER (v Sale Sharks): Simon Zebo; Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Denis Hurley, Ronan O’Mahony; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Duncan Casey, BJ Botha, Dave Foley, Paul O’Connell, Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell, Peter O’Mahony (capt).

Replacements: Eusebio Guinazu, John Ryan, Stephen Archer, Billy Holland, Robin Copeland, Ivan Dineen, JJ Hanrahan, Pat Howard.