Jump to main content


McGrath Leads Leinster ‘A’ For Quarter-Final Tie

McGrath Leads Leinster ‘A’ For Quarter-Final Tie

Head coach Girvan Dempsey has named the Leinster ‘A’ team to take on Rotherham Titans in Saturday’s British & Irish Cup quarter-final at Clifton Lane (kick-off 2pm).

Scrum half Luke McGrath will captain the side, fresh from his try-scoring performance in last week’s European win over Castres at the RDS. Ross Byrne, recently named in the Ireland Under-20s’ Six Nations squad, completes the half-back pairing.

In total there are five players from the Ireland U-20 squad in the Leinster ‘A’ matchday squad for the British & Irish Cup quarter-final.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Colm O’Shea, who captained the ‘A’ team in last week’s interprovincial friendly against Connacht Eagles, starts at inside centre with Brendan Macken outside him.

Sam Coghlan Murray and Garry Ringrose (pictured below) will be deployed on the wings, while Lansdowne clubman Cian Kelleher completes the back-three at full-back.

In the back row there are two changes from the Connacht Eagles game – Peadar Timmins keeps his place at number 8 and will be flanked by Ben Marshall and Josh van der Flier.

There is plenty of experience in the second row in the shape of Tom Denton who will start alongside the 20-year-old Ross Molony. Front rowers Peter Dooley, Bryan Byrne and Oisin Heffernan complete the starting pack.

Click here for match ticket information on the Rotherham Titans website. Follow Leinster Rugby on Twitter for updates on Saturday’s quarter-final clash.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Rotherham Titans): Cian Kelleher; Garry Ringrose, Brendan Macken, Colm O’Shea, Sam Coghlan Murray; Ross Byrne, Luke McGrath (capt); Peter Dooley, Bryan Byrne, Oisin Heffernan, Ross Molony, Tom Denton, Ben Marshall, Josh van der Flier, Peadar Timmins.

Replacements: James Tracy, Ian Prendiville, Tadhg Beirne, Jordan Coghlan, Nick McCarthy, Steve Crosbie, Billy Dardis.