Jump to main content


Connacht Eagles Team Shows Seven Changes

Connacht Eagles Team Shows Seven Changes

The Connacht Eagles team has been named for Saturday’s final round British & Irish Cup tie with Bristol at the Sportsground (kick-off 2pm).

Head coach Nigel Carolan has selected a side that shows seven personnel changes from the team that lined out against Pontypridd in Wales last weekend.

Academy back Conor McKeon has been handed the reins at out-half in a back-line that sees two other changes with David Panter and Ciaran Gaffney both featuring.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Up front, Jack Dinneen and Conan O’Donnell start in the front row with loosehead prop Jacob Walshe continuing in the number 1 jersey from the previous round.

Behind them, Cian Romaine has been promoted from the bench to join the ever-present Ultan Dillane (pictured below) in the second row. Mata Fifita starts at blindside flanker in a back row with Rory Moloney and captain Eoghan Masterson.

Pool leaders Bristol will come in search of the win they need to be certain of a home quarter-final. The English side extended their winning run to 13 matches with a 22-14 victory over London Scottish in round 5.

Bristol outscored Connacht Eagles by eight tries to four in front of a record B&I Cup crowd when the sides met in round 1. Olly Robinson, son of head coach Andy, scored a hat-trick on his competitive debut for the club while the Eagles secured a bonus point that day with Masterson (2), Fionn Carr and Caolin Blade all crossing.

The Eagles have won one of two cup games played at home so far this season and a victory over Bristol on Saturday afternoon could see them lift themselves off the bottom of Pool 1.

CONNACHT EAGLES (v Bristol): David Panter; Ciaran Gaffney, Rory Parata, Peter Robb, Shane O’Leary; Conor McKeon, John Cooney; Jacob Walshe, Jack Dinneen, Conan O’Donnell, Cian Romaine, Ultan Dillane, Mata Fifita, Rory Moloney, Eoghan Masterson (capt).

Replacements: Paul O’Donnell, Conor Kyne, Marc Kelly, Stephen McVeigh, Conor Lowndes, Aidan Moynihan, Dwayne Corcoran.