Jump to main content



Ireland Team To Play Georgia

Ireland Team To Play Georgia

Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt has announced the team to face Georgia in the GUINNESS Series on Sunday, with two new caps – Dominic Ryan and Dave Foley – included.

Back rower Dominic Ryan and lock Dave Foley are set to make their first international appearances, while replacement Robin Copeland could be the third Irish debutant on the day.

Scrum half Eoin Reddan will become the 103rd captain of Ireland when he leads the team out for his 57th appearance at Test level.
An all action back-three features Felix Jones, Simon Zebo and Craig Gilroy with Gordon D’Arcy and Darren Cave pairing up in the centre. Ian Madigan is selected at out-half to play alongside his provincial colleague Reddan.
In the pack, Mike Ross is retained at tighthead prop and is joined in the front row by hooker Richardt Strauss and Dave Kilcoyne, who is set for his third start for Ireland.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The second row is made up of debutant Foley and Mike McCarthy, while the back row sees new cap Ryan picked at blindside flanker, Tommy O’Donnell filling the number 7 jersey and Robbie Diack given the nod at number 8.
There is experience on the bench in the form of Devin Toner and Sean Cronin, while props Rodney Ah You and Jack McGrath may get another opportunity to impress.

Copeland is an exciting uncapped addition to the bench, and reserve backs Kieran Marmion, Ian Keatley and Stuart Olding will also be looking to make an impact on the game.

Commenting on ticket sales for the second GUINNESS Series game, IRFU Commercial & Marketing Director Padraig Power said: “We are delighted with sales and really grateful to all the fans who have bought tickets for Sunday’s match against Georgia. It really shows just how popular the team is and how strong the Irish rugby brand is.

“There are over 42,000 tickets sold which is a record for a non-Tier 1 opposition international rugby match here in Ireland.

Tickets are still available on www.Ticketmaster.ie and are great value. For instance, a parent and child can see the game for €;20 – €;15 for the adult and €;5 for the child. Fans can also buy on match day from the Ticketmaster booth located at the Ballsbridge Hotel from 10.30am on Sunday.”

IRELAND Team & Replacements (v Georgia, 2014 GUINNESS Series, Aviva Stadium, Sunday, November 16, kick-off 2.30pm):


15. Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster) 7
14. Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster) 5
13. Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 7
12. Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 79
11. Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 9
10. Ian Madigan (Blackrock/Leinster) 11
9. Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 56 (capt)
1. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 11
2. Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster) 5
3. Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster) 42
4. Dave Foley (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
5. Mike McCarthy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 16
6. Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster) *
7. Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 5
8. Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster) 1


16. Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 36
17. Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 11
18. Rodney Ah You (Buccaneers/Connacht) 2
19. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 18
20. Robin Copeland (Young Munster/Munster) *
21. Kieran Marmion (Galwegians/Connacht) 2
22. Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster) 2
23. Stuart Olding (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 1
* Denotes uncapped player