Jump to main content


Back Rower Reidy Set For PRO12 Bow With Ulster

Back Rower Reidy Set For PRO12 Bow With Ulster

Ulster head coach Neil Doak has made seven changes and two positional switches to the team that lost to Toulon for Saturday’s GUINNESS PRO12 game against the Newport Gwent Dragons at Kingspan Stadium (kick-off 7.35pm).

Stuart Olding has been released from Ireland camp and starts the game at full-back. Louis Ludik switches to the right wing with Darren Cave selected at outside centre and Stuart McCloskey picked at inside centre.

Peter Nelson is named on the left wing and plays his first match of the season for Ulster, while Paddy Jackson and Paul Marshall continue in the half-backs.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Up front, Callum Black starts at loosehead prop, Rob Herring is named at hooker and South African Wiehahn Herbst continues on the tighthead side of the scrum.

The second row is unchanged with Lewis Stevenson selected alongside Franco van der Merwe, while Clive Ross makes his first start for the province at blindside flanker and Irish-qualified New Zealander Sean Reidy is at openside for his competitive debut.

The two new flankers will have stand-in captain Roger Wilson, who has 162 Ulster caps to his name, alongside them in the back row.

Forwards John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Declan Fitzpatrick, Neil McComb and Robbie Diack are selected on the bench as are backs Michael Heaney, Ian Humphreys and Ricky Andrew.

The seated section of the Memorial End Stand is sold out for the BBC 2 Northern Ireland-televised game, but tickets remain on sale for all other areas of the ground. For the best remaining available tickets, please buy online here.

Match tickets will also be available on the gate with the ticket booth opening at 6pm on Saturday. These will be restricted to terrace tickets only.

ULSTER (v Newport Gwent Dragons): Stuart Olding; Louis Ludik, Darren Cave, Stuart McCloskey, Peter Nelson; Paddy Jackson, Paul Marshall; Callum Black, Rob Herring, Wiehahn Herbst, Lewis Stevenson, Franco van der Merwe, Clive Ross, Sean Reidy, Roger Wilson (capt).

Replacements: John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Declan Fitzpatrick, Neil McComb, Robbie Diack, Michael Heaney, Ian Humphreys, Ricky Andrew.