Jump to main content


Ulster Make Ten Changes For Parma Trip

Ulster Make Ten Changes For Parma Trip

There are 10 changes to the Ulster team that beat Cardiff Blues for Saturday afternoon’s match against Zebre at the Stadio XXV Aprile (kick-off 4pm local time/3pm Irish time).

Craig Gilroy is one of seven Ireland internationals in the side and returns at full-back. He is joined in the back-three by Tommy Bowe, who switches to the right wing, and Michael Allen who starts on the left.

Darren Cave retains his place at outside centre and is joined in midfield by the 2013/14 Hughes Insurance Academy Player of the Year, Stuart McCloskey, who makes his first start of the season.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Paddy Jackson, who scored 14 points in the win over Cardiff, starts at out-half and is partnered at half-back by Michael Heaney.

Up front, there is a whole new front row with Callum Black named at loosehead prop, Rob Herring selected at hooker and Declan Fitzpatrick, who has recovered from injury, starting at tighthead prop.

In the second row, Franco van der Merwe is joined by Neil McComb who starts his first match of the season.

In the back row, Clive Ross (pictured below), who is an ex-Lansdowne player and a cousin of Mike Ross, starts his first competitive match for the province. He is selected at openside flanker with Roger Wilson captaining the side from blindside and Nick Williams stationed at number 8.

Rory Best, Ruaidhri Murphy, Wiehahn Herbst, Lewis Stevenson and Mike McComish are named on the bench as are backs Paul Marshall, Ian Humphreys and Andrew Trimble.   

Ulster’s next match is at home to Edinburgh next Friday night (kick-off 7.30pm). Tickets for that game can be purchased by clicking here.

ULSTER (v Zebre): Craig Gilroy; Tommy Bowe, Darren Cave, Stuart McCIoskey, Michael Allen; Paddy Jackson, Michael Heaney; Callum Black, Rob Herring, Declan Fitzpatrick, Neil McComb, Franco van der Merwe, Roger Wilson (capt), Clive Ross, Nick Williams.

Replacements: Rory Best, Ruaidhri Murphy, Wiehahn Herbst, Lewis Stevenson, Mike McComish, Paul Marshall, Ian Humphreys, Andrew Trimble.