Jump to main content


Murray To Captain Munster Against Ospreys

Murray To Captain Munster Against Ospreys

Munster head coach Anthony Foley has named his team to face GUINNESS PRO12 leaders the Ospreys at Thomond Park on Saturday (kick-off 6.30pm). The selected side sees Conor Murray promoted to captain for the round 4 clash.

Conor Murray is one of six players to retain their starting positions from last weekend’s 31-5 bonus point win over Zebre.

Ireland loosehead prop David Kilcoyne makes his first start of the season alongside hooker Duncan Casey and South African tighthead BJ Botha.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Donncha O’Callaghan comes into the second row for Billy Holland who has played every minute of this season’s PRO12 to date, and Munster’s most capped player will be partnered by Paul O’Connell who makes his second consecutive league start.

Paddy Butler retains responsibility at blindside flanker, with Sean Dougall and CJ Stander returning to the starting line-up at openside flanker and number 8 respectively.

In the half-backs Murray will captain the side from scrum half, while Ian Keatley is back to take command of the number 10 channel.

After impressing in the centre last time out against Zebre, Denis Hurley will again start at inside centre alongside Ivan Dineen who replaces Andrew Smith – one of the try scorers against the Italians.

Gerhard van den Heever has recovered from a knee injury to make his first appearance of the season on the left wing. The South African comes in for Simon Zebo, another who has played every minute of Munster’s league campaign to date.

Andrew Conway returns to the right wing with Johne Murphy starting at at full-back for the first time in the current league campaign.

A strong performance on his senior debut last Friday sees Academy player Jack O’Donoghue included among the replacements once again this weekend.

Munster v Ospreys tickets are available to buy online here, and from the Munster Rugby ticket offices in Thomond Park and Musgrave Park on Friday from 10am to 4.30pm, the mobile ticket unit at the East Stand on Saturday from 10am and the West Stand ticket booth from 4.30pm on Saturday.

MUNSTER (v Ospreys): Johne Murphy; Andrew Conway, Ivan Dineen, Denis Hurley, Gerhard van den Heever; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray (capt); David Kilcoyne, Duncan Casey, BJ Botha, Donncha O’Callaghan, Paul O’Connell, Paddy Butler, Sean Dougall, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, David Foley, Jack O’Donoghue, Duncan Williams, JJ Hanrahan, Andrew Smith.