Jump to main content


Heaslip Leads Leinster For First Home Game

Heaslip Leads Leinster For First Home Game

Jamie Heaslip is back to captain Leinster for their first home game of the season – Saturday’s GUINNESS PRO12 round 2 encounter with the Scarlets at the RDS (kick-off 2.40pm).

Also making their seasonal bows are fellow Ireland internationals Rob Kearney, who starts at full-back, and Devin Toner who partners Mike McCarthy in the second row.

With Kearney returning in the back-three, Zane Kirchner moves to the right wing with Darragh Fanning again selected on the left wing. The St. Mary’s College clubman has now started all four of Leinster’s games in recent weeks, including the two pre-season friendlies.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Brendan Macken starts at outside centre with Ian Madigan wearing the number 12 jersey. Madigan came on at inside centre for the injured Noel Reid in the opening minute of the defeat to Glasgow Warriors.

Head coach Matt O’Connor confirmed yesterday that Reid’s ankle injury is not as bad as first feared and expects him to be back within a number of weeks rather than months.

Isaac Boss, who made his 100th appearance for the province last weekend, starts again at scrum half alongside Jimmy Gopperth.

After his try-scoring performance off the bench last, Jack McGrath starts at loosehead prop with Mike Ross on the other side of the front row and Sean Cronin continuing at hooker.

The returning Jamie Heaslip slots in at number 8 with Dominic Ryan and Shane Jennings completing the back row combination.

Tickets to the game are still available at www.leinsterrugby.ie/tickets or can be bought on the day with the ticket office open from 10am.

LEINSTER (v Scarlets): Rob Kearney; Zane Kirchner, Brendan Macken, Ian Madigan, Darragh Fanning; Jimmy Gopperth, Isaac Boss; Jack McGrath, Sean Cronin, Mike Ross, Devin Toner, Mike McCarthy, Dominic Ryan, Shane Jennings, Jamie Heaslip (capt).

Replacements: Bryan Byrne, Cian Healy, Tadhg Furlong, Ben Marshall, Kevin McLaughlin, Eoin Reddan, Steve Crosbie, Michael McGrath.