Jump to main content


Ireland Girls Sevens Squad Announced For European Championship

Ireland Girls Sevens Squad Announced For European Championship

The Irish Rugby Football Union today announced the Ireland Girls Sevens squad to take part in the inaugural FIRA/AER Under-18 European Sevens Championship in Enkoping, Sweden from September 12 to 15.

The 12 strong squad includes seven girls from the Ireland Under-18 side who were Bowl winners at last weekend’s UK School Games in Manchester.

The addition of Erin Caughey and Mairead Hopkins, who participated in the 2013 UK School Games, along with three new members – Kayleigh Hopkins (Mairead’s older sister), Kathryn Dane and Fiona Tuite – completes the squad.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Sweden-bound squad is coached by Stan McDowell and captained by Jayne Pennefather.

McDowell commented: “We were delighted with the squad’s approach and work ethic at the recent UK School Games and pleased to welcome back two members from last year’s squad and three new girls as we look to the European Championship in Sweden.

“The experience the girls gain in these international tournaments is vital for their long-term development and for the continued development of the Women’s game, so we are determined to use these opportunities to continue the learning of this young squad.”

Ireland have been drawn in Pool B with England, Portugal, Wales and hosts Sweden, with all of their pool games scheduled for Saturday.

IRELAND GIRLS SEVENS Squad (2014 FIRA/AER Under-18 European Sevens Championship, Enkoping, Sweden, September 12-15):

Chloe Blackmore (Carrick-on-Suir/Munster)
Erin Caughey (Malone/Ulster)
Meabh Donohoe (Tullow/Leinster)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
Kathryn Dane (Enniskillen/Ulster)
Jessica Hunt (Wicklow/Leinster)
Shannen Lane (Cavan/Ulster)
Mairead Hopkins (Ballina/Connacht)
Meabh O’Brien (Naas/Leinster)
Kayleigh Hopkins (Ballina/Connacht)
Jayne Pennefather (Carrigaline/Munster) (capt)
Fiona Tuite (Railway Union/Leinster)


Saturday, September 13 –

Ireland v Portugal, 11.06am local time/10.06am Irish time
Ireland v Sweden, 1.06pm local time/12.06pm Irish time
England v Ireland, 3.06pm local time/2.06pm Irish time
Ireland v Wales, 5.06pm local time/4.06pm Irish time