Jump to main content


Fitzpatrick Is Ireland’s Only Change

Fitzpatrick Is Ireland’s Only Change

The Ireland Women’s team to play their New Zealand counterparts in the second round of the IRB Women’s Rugby World Cup has been named.

There is just one change to the team that overcame the USA 23-17 in their opening game of the tournament. Paula Fitzpatrick starts at blindside flanker with Siobhan Fleming named in the replacements.
Experienced scrum half Tania Rosser will have the honour of receiving her 50th cap for Ireland as she lines out against her native country.
Speaking ahead of the mouth-watering encounter with the reigning world champions, Ireland head coach Philip Doyle said: “We have prepared for a tough test, we are focusing on how we are going to play our game and we have to play as well as we can.”
Tuesday’s Pool B game, which kicks off at 5pm Irish time, will be televised live on TG4 and Sky Sports 1 HD.

IRELAND WOMEN’S Team & Replacements (v New Zealand, IRB Women’s Rugby World Cup – Pool B, Marcoussis, Paris, France, Tuesday, August 5, kick-off 6pm local time/5pm Irish time):
15. Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster)
14. Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
13. Lynne Cantwell (Richmond/Exile)
12. Grace Davitt (Cooke/Ulster)
11. Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht)
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
9. Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Leinster)
1. Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster) (capt)
2. Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemians/Munster)
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
4. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
5. Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
6. Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
8. Heather O’Brien (Highfield/Munster)

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

16. Sharon Lynch (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
17. Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians/Munster)
18. Laura Guest (Highfield/Munster)
19. Siobhan Fleming (Tralee/Munster)
20. Larissa Muldoon (Bristol/Exile)
21. Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
22. Vikki McGinn (Blackrock/Leinster)



Friday, August 1: IRELAND 23 USA 17, Marcoussis pitch 3

Tuesday, August 5: New Zealand v IRELAND, Marcoussis pitch 1, 6pm local time/5pm Irish time

Saturday, August 9: IRELAND v Kazakhstan, Marcoussis pitch 3, 1pm local time/12pm Irish time