Jump to main content


Ireland Women’s Squad Named For Brive Sevens

Ireland Women’s Squad Named For Brive Sevens

The Ireland Women’s Sevens squad for the second leg of the FIRA/AER European Women’s Sevens Grand Prix Series in Brive, France this weekend has been announced.

Ireland finished seventh in the first round of the Grand Prix Series in Moscow last weekend, ending the tournament with a confidence-boosting 31-0 victory over Italy.

There is one change to the squad for Brive with Megan Williams replacing Claire Keohane. The girls in green have been draw in Pool C along with the Netherlands, Portugal and Belgium.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Speaking ahead of the tournament, head coach Jon Skurr said: “We were disappointed by our overall performance in Moscow and will be looking to significantly improve on that this weekend in Brive.

“The girls are very clear about the areas where we fell short and we are working hard this week to make sure that we rectify those shortcomings in our game. In patches we played some good rugby but lacked consistency throughout the tournament.

“We’re going into this next round knowing that we can’t control what other teams do but we can control what we do and therefore have to remain focused on our performance levels.”

Click here to visit the Brive Sevens website. They also have Twitter and Facebook pages for this weekend’s tournament.

IRELAND WOMEN’S SEVENS Squad (FIRA/AER European Women’s Sevens Grand Prix Tournament, Stadium de Brive, Brive-la-Gaillarde, France, June 14-15):
1 – Shannon Houston (Blackrock/Leinster) (capt)
2 – Martina McCarthy (St. Mary’s/Talent ID Programme)
3 – Elaine Ryan (Talent ID Programme)
4 – Nicole Cronin (Shannon/Munster)
5 – Megan Williams (Saracens/Exiles)
6 – Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
7 – Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Clanwilliam/Munster)
8 – Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/Leinster)
9 – Nikki Caughey (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
10 – Siobhan Barrett (Tralee/Munster)
11 – Laura Lee Walsh (Talent ID Programme)
12 – Susan Vaughan (Railway Union/Leinster)


POOL C – Saturday, June 14

Portugal v IRELAND, Stadium de Brive, 11.50am local time/10.50am Irish time
Netherlands v IRELAND, Stadium de Brive, 2.02pm local time/1.02pm Irish time
IRELAND v Belgium, Stadium de Brive, 5.20pm local time/4.20pm Irish time