Jump to main content


Earls And Moore To Miss Summer Tour

Earls And Moore To Miss Summer Tour

Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt was forced to make two changes to his travelling squad prior to their departure for the tour of Argentina today.

Versatile back Keith Earls has been ruled out due to illness (gastroenteritis), while prop Martin Moore, who helped Leinster retain the RaboDirect PRO12 title last night, will not travel as he is nursing a fractured toe.

Following confirmation of his withdrawal, Moore tweeted: “Gutted not to be touring but it’s been a dream first season. Thanks for the support and best of luck to the lads taking on Argentina next week.”

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Connacht prop Rodney Ah You takes Moore’s place in the Ireland summer tour squad and Leinster’s Noel Reid has been called up in Earls’ absence.

The inclusion of the uncapped duo, who had both been named in the Emerging Ireland squad for the upcoming IRB Nations Cup, increases the number of potential Ireland debutants in Argentina to six.

Ah You was part of the extended training squad for Ireland’s successful RBS 6 Nations campaign earlier this year.

The New Zealand-born 25-year-old qualified for Ireland last October, having joined Connacht, under Eric Elwood, in October 2010.

Centre Reid, who turned 24 last week, played three times for the Emerging Ireland tour at the Tbilisi Cup last summer. The Dubliner finished as Leinster’s top try scorer in the PRO12 this season with seven tries.

The first Test between Argentina and Ireland takes place at the Estadio Centenario in Resistancia in the Chaco province in the north east of the country next Saturday (June 7).

The second Test will be played at the Estadio José Fierro in Tucumán in north western Argentina on Saturday, June 14.

Both matches against the Pumas will kick off at 3.40pm local time (7.40pm Irish time) and will be broadcast live on Sky Sports 2, with coverage starting from 7pm.

IRELAND Squad (Summer Tour, Argentina, June 2014):

Backs (13) –

Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 5
Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster) 5
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 54
Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster) 8
Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) *
Luke Marshall (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 5
Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 26
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 27
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 54
Noel Reid (Clontarf/Leinster) *
Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92) 43
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster) 55
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 6

Forwards (16) –

Rodney Ah You (Buccaneers/Connacht) *
Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 75
James Cronin (Dolphin/Munster) *
Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster) *
Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 10
Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster) 14
Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) 65
Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) *
Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 8
Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 8
Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 2
Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster) 92 (capt)
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster) 39
Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 2
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 15
Damien Varley (Garryowen/Munster) 2
* Denotes uncapped player

Argentina v IRELAND
Saturday, June 7
Estadio Centenario, Resistencia, Chaco; Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Kick-off 3.40pm local time/7.40pm Irish time

Argentina v IRELAND
Saturday, June 14
Estadio José Fierro, Tucumán; Referee: Pascal Gauzere (France)
Kick-off 3.40pm local time/7.40pm Irish time