Jump to main content


Four Uncapped Players In Ireland’s Summer Tour Squad

Four Uncapped Players In Ireland’s Summer Tour Squad

The Ireland coaching team have named a 30-man squad for the two-Test tour of Argentina in June. The squad will fly to Buenos Aires on Sunday, June 1 – the day after the RaboDirect PRO12 final between Leinster and Glasgow Warriors.

The selected squad, which is made up of 16 forwards and 14 backs, contains four uncapped players – Munster prop James Cronin, Ulster back rower Robbie Diack and hooker Rob Herring and Connacht scrum half Kieran Marmion.
The first Test takes place at the Estadio Centenario in Resistancia in the Chaco province in the north east of the country on Saturday, June 7. 

The second Test will be played at the Estadio José Fierro in Tucumán in north western Argentina on Saturday, June 14.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Both matches against the Pumas will kick off at 3.40pm local time (7.40pm Irish time) and will be broadcast live on Sky Sports 2, with coverage starting from 7pm.

IRELAND Squad (Summer Tour, Argentina, June 2014):

Forwards (16) –

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 75
James Cronin (Dolpin/Munster) *
Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster) *
Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 10
Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster) 14
Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) 65
Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) *
Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 8
Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 8
Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster) 5
Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 2
Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster) (capt) 92
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster) 39
Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 2
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 15
Damien Varley (Garryowen/Munster) 2
Backs (14) –

Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 5
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 39
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht) 3
Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) 9
Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster) 5
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 54
Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) *
Luke Marshall (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 5
Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 26
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 27
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 54
Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92) 43
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster) 55
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 6
* Denotes uncapped player
Argentina v IRELAND
Saturday, June 7
Estadio Centenario, Resistencia, Chaco; Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Kick-off 3.40pm local time/7.40pm Irish time

Argentina v IRELAND
Saturday, June 14
Estadio José Fierro, Tucumán; Referee: Pascal Gauzere (France)
Kick-off 3.40pm local time/7.40pm Irish time