Jump to main content


Eight Changes Made To Leinster Line-Up

Eight Changes Made To Leinster Line-Up

The Leinster team to face Ulster in the second of the RaboDirect PRO12 semi-finals at the RDS on Saturday (kick-off 7pm) has been named.

Head coach Matt O’Connor has made eight changes in total to the side that started last weekend against Edinburgh and in doing so has selected the same pack – bar Mike McCarthy – that won at Ravenhill a fortnight ago.

As a result out go Jack McGrath, the injured Richardt Strauss and Mike Ross to be replaced by Cian Healy, Sean Cronin and Martin Moore.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Devin Toner comes into the second row for Leo Cullen who reverts to the bench, while South African Quinn Roux takes the place of McCarthy.

In the back row, Rhys Ruddock and Shane Jennings replace Sean O’Brien and Jordi Murphy. Jamie Heaslip, who captains the side from number 8, is the only forward to have retained his spot from last week.

Jennings, who scored a try in the recent 22-20 win at Ravenhill, is getting ever closer to his 200th Leinster cap. Saturday’s game will be his 195th appearance for the province.

There is only one change to the backs with Eoin Reddan starting at scrum half having recovered from the shoulder injury that has sidelined him since the Heineken Cup game against Toulon.

Reddan will make his 100th appearance for Leinster on Saturday night. He has four tries to his name since joining from Wasps in 2010.

There are a limited number of match tickets still available on www.leinsterrugby.ie/tickets and any remaining tickets will be on sale at the RDS on Saturday from 2.30pm.

LEINSTER (v Ulster): Rob Kearney; Fergus McFadden, Brian O’Driscoll, Gordon D’Arcy, Dave Kearney; Jimmy Gopperth, Eoin Reddan; Cian Healy, Sean Cronin, Martin Moore, Devin Toner, Quinn Roux, Rhys Ruddock, Shane Jennings, Jamie Heaslip (capt).

Replacements: Aaron Dundon, Jack McGrath, Mike Ross, Leo Cullen, Sean O’Brien, Isaac Boss, Ian Madigan, Zane Kirchner.