Jump to main content


Best And Pienaar Return To Ulster Team

Best And Pienaar Return To Ulster Team

Rory Best and Ruan Pienaar have recovered from injury to be named in the Ulster team for Saturday’s RaboDirect PRO12 semi-final against Leinster at the RDS (kick-off 7pm).

The returning Rory Best and Ruan Pienaar are two of 11 internationals in the team and two of 13 changes to the side that beat Munster at Thomond Park last weekend.

Craig Gilroy keeps his place at full-back and is joined in the back-three by Tommy Bowe on the right wing and IRUPA Players’ Player of the Year Andrew Trimble on the left.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Jared Payne is selected at outside centre, with Darren Cave starting the match in the number 12 jersey. Paddy Jackson is named at out-half alongside the fit-again Pienaar.

Up front, Callum Black is retained at loosehead prop with Best starting at hooker and Ricky Lutton, who missed the recent Ravenhill game against Leinster with a toe injury, back at tighthead.

Ulster captain Johann Muller starts in the second row and is partnered by Iain Henderson who will wear the number 5 shirt.

Robbie Diack has recovered from the ankle injury that he sustained against Connacht and joins Chris Henry and Roger Wilson in the back row.

Forwards Rob Herring, Andrew Warwick, Adam Macklin, Dan Tuohy and Sean Doyle are named on the bench alongside backs Paul Marshall, James McKinney and Luke Marshall.

ULSTER (v Leinster): Craig Gilroy; Tommy Bowe, Jared Payne, Darren Cave, Andrew Trimble; Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar; Callum Black, Rory Best, Ricky Lutton, Johann Muller (capt), Iain Henderson, Robbie Diack, Chris Henry, Roger Wilson.

Replacements: Rob Herring, Andrew Warwick, Adam Macklin, Dan Tuohy, Sean Doyle, Paul Marshall, James McKinney, Luke Marshall.