Jump to main content


Ireland Women’s Squad Named For Amsterdam Sevens

Ireland Women’s Squad Named For Amsterdam Sevens

The Ireland Women’s Sevens squad to participate in the Amsterdam leg of the IRB Women’s Sevens World Series this Friday and Saturday has been named.

The Amsterdam Sevens tournament is the fifth and final round of the IRB Women’s Sevens World Series, with Jon Skurr’s Ireland side currently placed 13th in the overall standings.
Speaking ahead of the tournament, Ireland team manager Gillian McDarby said: “Whilst our first season on the World Series has been challenging for the squad, we have shown great signs of improvement throughout the last few tournaments with evident progression.

“It has been a massive learning curve for us and at the same time very exciting, especially developing the talent we have brought into rugby through the Talent ID programme and developing the players already within rugby, providing them with opportunities to develop even further.”

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The travelling squad includes one new cap in Hannah Tyrrell, the Dublin Ladies Gaelic football goalkeeper who plays rugby with Old Belvedere. She has lined out for the Leinster Women’s Development team this season.
Ireland have been drawn in Pool B with defending champions and current series leaders New Zealand as well as Spain and USA.

All the action from the final round of the IRB Women’s Sevens World Series in Amsterdam will be streamed live on wsws.irb.com from 12.20pm local time/11.20am Irish time on Friday.

IRELAND WOMEN’S SEVENS Squad (Amsterdam Sevens, NRCA Stadium, Amsterdam, Netherlands, May 16-17):
1. Shannon Houston (Blackrock/Leinster) (capt)
2. Martina McCarthy (St. Mary’s/Talent ID Programme)
3. Niamh Ni Dhroma (Buccaneers/Connacht)
4. Elaine Ryan (Talent ID Programme)
5. Claire Keohane (UL Bohemians/Munster)
6. Megan Williams (Saracens/Exiles)
7. Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
8. Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/Leinster)
9. Nikki Caughey (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
10. Siobhan Barrett (Tralee/Munster)
11. Laura Lee Walsh (Talent ID Programme)
12. Susan Vaughan (Railway Union/Leinster)

* Denotes new cap at senior international Sevens level


Friday, May 16 –

Spain v IRELAND, NRCA Stadium, 1.26pm local time/12.26pm Irish time
New Zealand v IRELAND, NRCA Stadium, 3.48pm local time/2.48pm Irish time
USA v IRELAND, NRCA Stadium, 6.54pm local time/5.54pm Irish time

Saturday, May 17 –

Cup, Bowl and Plate competitions (12pm-7.12pm local time/11am-6.12pm Irish time)

Related Links –

Amsterdam Sevens – WSWS

Ireland Women Win Bowl Title In China