Jump to main content


Shortlist Revealed For Ulster Bank League Awards

Shortlist Revealed For Ulster Bank League Awards

Some of Ireland’s finest and most talented club rugby stars, from across the Ulster Bank League, will gather in Dublin next Thursday for the second annual Ulster Bank League Awards.

Last year saw the introduction of the first ever Ulster Bank League Awards, with current Connacht player Craig Ronaldson presented with the Division 1A Player of the Year and Top Points Scorer awards following his title-winning exploits with Lansdowne.

A shortlist of players, from each division, has been compiled by a panel of judges including Ulster Bank rugby ambassadors Alan Quinlan and Bryn Cunningham and club rugby journalists Adam Redmond, Kieran Rooney and Donn O’Sullivan.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Recognising the commitment shown by teams and individuals in rugby clubs, across the country, on a weekly basis, Ulster Bank will also announce winners of the Ulster Bank Team of the Year award and the Ulster Bank Club Volunteer of the Year award.

Both awards are open to teams and clubs across all Ulster Bank League divisions.

Speaking ahead of the awards ceremont, Alan Quinlan said: “The 2013/14 Ulster Bank League season has been nail-biting and we have seen some outstanding team and individual performances.

“It is also refreshing to see a number of Ulster Bank League players being plucked by Ireland’s provincial academies – a fitting accolade to those in the club game who dedicate their time to their local clubs and their passion for the game.

“Supporting these players, and recognising and rewarding their talent, is vital for both the development of Irish rugby and Ireland’s club players.

“The Ulster Bank League Awards are about shinning a spotlight on both club players and the league – showing people that there is rugby talent stemming from every corner of the country.”


Ulster Bank Player of the Year – Division 1A

Nominees: Daniel Riordan (Old Belvedere), David Joyce (Clontarf), Ian Hirst (Clontarf)

Ulster Bank Coach of the Year – Division 1A

Nominees: Bobby Byrne (UCD), Andy Wood (Clontarf), Paul Cunningham (Old Belvedere)

Ulster Bank Rising Star Award – Division 1A

Nominees: Jack Conan (Old Belvedere), David Joyce (Clontarf), Andrew Boyle (UCD), Dan Goggin (Young Munster)

Ulster Bank Player of the Year – Division 1B

Nominees: Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemians), Finn Gormley (Corinthians), Robert Duke (Terenure College)

Ulster Bank Player of the Year – Division 2A

Nominees: Jerome Harimate (Galwegians), Ian Porter (Banbridge), Peter McCabe (UCC)

Ulster Bank Player of the Year – Division 2B

Nominees: Derek Corcoran (Nenagh Ormond), Leonard Slattery (Thomond), Chris Keane (Skerries)

Ulster Bank Team of the Year – across all divisions

Winners announced on the night

Ulster Bank PRO of the Year

Nominees: Sam O’Byrne (Clontarf), Sile Geraghty (Tullamore), Thomas O’Brien (Old Wesley)