Jump to main content



Six Irish Shortlisted For Player Of The Championship Honour

Six Irish Shortlisted For Player Of The Championship Honour

Voting for the hotly-contested RBS Player of the Championship is now open and you can select your choice from the 16 shortlisted players.

Players at every RBS 6 Nations match this year have been awarded (or deducted) points based upon a number of different performance categories which cover all aspects of the game and you can vote here.

Six members of Ireland’s title-winning squad have made the shortlist – backs Rob Kearney, Andrew Trimble, Brian O’Driscoll and Jonathan Sexton and forwards Cian Healy and Jamie Heaslip.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The performance categories are proportionately weighted based on the different positions by an algorithm created by RBS and Accenture, official technology partner of the RBS 6 Nations.

According to match statistics, these are the best performing players across a set range of criteria in this year’s RBS 6 Nations.

Now it is your chance to have the final say by voting who should be crowned the RBS Player of the Championship for 2014. Voting closes at midnight on Wednesday, March 19).

Vote for your Player of the Championship now!


2013 – Leigh Halfpenny (Wales)
2012 – Dan Lydiate (Wales)
2011 – Andrea Masi (Italy)
2010 – Tommy Bowe (Ireland)
2009 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)
2008 – Shane Williams (Wales)
2007 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)
2006 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)