Jump to main content



Ireland Team To Play France

Ireland Team To Play France

Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt has made just one change to the team that will face France in Saturday’s RBS 6 Nations title decider in Paris (kick-off 6pm local time/5pm Irish time).

Munster skipper Peter O’Mahony has recovered from the hamstring strain that kept him sidelined for the Italy game. He returns at blindside flanker in place of Iain Henderson who reverts to the replacements bench.

Team captain Paul O’Connell wins his 92nd cap and packs down alongside Devin Toner in the second row, behind the Six Nations’ leading front row combination of Cian Healy, Rory Best and Mike Ross.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Jonathan Sexton will again lead the back-line having put his thumb strain behind him with a fine two-try performance against Italy.

Conor Murray has also fully recovered from the illness that saw him leave the pitch early against the Italians. Brian O’Driscoll, meanwhile, is set to make his 133rd and final appearance for Ireland.

On the bench, Ulster youngster Henderson provides cover for second row with Jordi Murphy covering the back row and Rhys Ruddock dropping out of the matchday 23. Ian Madigan is introduced to the bench in place of Paddy Jackson.

IRELAND Team & Replacements (v France, 2014 RBS 6 Nations Championship, Stade de France, Saturday, March 15, kick-off 6pm local time/5pm Irish time):

Player/Club/Province/Caps –

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 53
14. Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster) 54
13. Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster) 132
12. Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 78
11. Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) 6
10. Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92) 42
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 26
1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 46
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 74
3. Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster) 38
4. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 14
5. Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster) (capt) 91
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 22
7. Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster) 13
8. Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) 64


16. Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 34
17. Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 7
18. Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster) 4
19. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 9
20. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 2
21. Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 53
22. Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster) 7
23. Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 25