Jump to main content


Hurley Leads Ireland Club Team In Cork

Hurley Leads Ireland Club Team In Cork

Players from nine different Ulster Bank League clubs have been included in the Ireland Club team by head coach Tom Tierney for Friday’s fixture against their Scottish counterparts in Cork (kick-off 7.30pm).

Lansdowne, the reigning Ulster Bank League Division 1A champions, have four representatives in the starting line-up, while current table toppers Clontarf and Old Belvedere are rewarded with two starters apiece.

Clontarf’s Michael McGrath, who currently leads the Division 1A try-scoring charts with 10 tries, starts on the left wing.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Ireland Club side takes on the Scotland Clubs XV at Temple Hill, the home ground of Cork Constitution FC, at 7.30pm this Friday before facing the England Counties outfit at Mowden Park in Newcastle) on Friday, February 21.

Ireland will have revenge on their minds against the Scots as they lost 30-18 when they met at Millbrae last March. Scotland will be defending the Dalriada Cup – the trophy on offer for the winners of this annual clash.

Backs Cian Aherne, Stuart Morrow and captain Gerry Hurley all started against Scotland last time out, while Colm McMahon and William Ryan are the only survivors in the pack. Charlie Butterworth and Sam Cronin were on the bench for the 2013 fixture.

Tom Tierney, who won eight caps for Ireland, is in charge of the Ireland Club side for 2014. He is the current Garryowen head coach.

He is assisted by fellow former international Mick O’Driscoll who is part of the current Cork Con coaching team. Garryowen’s Seamus McDermott fills the role of team manager.

IRELAND CLUB XV Team & Replacements (v Scotland Clubs, Ulster Bank Club International, Temple Hill, Friday, February 7, kick-off 7.30pm):

15. Daniel Riordan (Old Belvedere RFC)
14. Cian Aherne (Lansdowne FC)
13. Stuart Morrow (Ballynahinch RFC)
12. Mark Roche (Lansdowne FC)
11. Michael McGrath (Clontarf FC)
10. David Joyce (Clontarf FC)
9. Gerry Hurley (Cork Constitution FC) (capt)
1. Colm McMahon (St. Mary’s College RFC)
2. Ger Slattery (Young Munster RFC)
3. Christy Condon (Dolphin RFC)
4. Dean Moore (Old Belvedere RFC)
5. Fergal Walsh (Terenure College RFC)
6. Willie Earle (Lansdowne FC)
7. Charlie Butterworth (Lansdowne FC)
8. William Ryan (Cork Constitution FC)


16. Tyrone Moran (Lansdowne FC)
17. Ian Hirst (Clontarf FC)
18. Declan Lavery (Old Belvedere RFC)
19. Sean Walsh (Cashel RFC)
20. James Ryan (Cork Constitution FC)
21. Neil Cronin (Garryowen FC)
22. Ritchie McMaster (Queen’s University RFC)
23. Barry Daly (UCD RFC)


IRELAND Club Team v Scotland Clubs
Temple Hill, Cork Constitution FC, 7.30pm
Friday, February 7

England Counties v IRELAND Club Team
Mowden Park RFC, Darlington, 7.30pm
Friday, February 21