Jump to main content


Munster ‘A’ Team Named For Plymouth Clash

Munster ‘A’ Team Named For Plymouth Clash

Munster ‘A’ head coach Peter Malone has named a strong squad for the vital British & Irish Cup clash with Plymouth Albion at Waterford’s Regional Sports Centre on Friday (kick-off 7.30pm).

The selected side includes the experienced Billy Holland and CJ Stander as Munster ‘A’ look to bounce back from last weekend’s 17-7 defeat at the hands of the Devon club.

In all, there are seven changes to the side with Munster Academy players Darren Sweetnam, Niall Kenneally and debutant Alex Wootton coming into the back-line.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Experienced Cork Constitution scrum half Gerry Hurley also comes into the back-line, and the forwards have been bolstered by the inclusion of Holland, Stander and Barry O’Mahony.

There is a positional change for last weekend’s try scorer Ronan O’Mahony as he starts at full-back with Dolphin’s Sweetnam coming into the side on the right wing.

Cork Con’s Kenneally is making his first start for the side and he partners Cian Bohane of Dolphin in the centre with Garryowen clubman Wootton on the left wing.

Hurley takes the place of Duncan Williams with his club-mate and Munster Academy out-half Johnny Holland retaining the number 10 jersey.

The front row is unchanged with Young Munster’s Alan Cotter, captain Niall Scannell of Dolphin and Cork Constitution prop John Ryan keeping their places.

Holland comes into the second row alongside Ian Nagle and the back row is made up by David O’Callaghan, Barry O’Mahony and Stander.

Young Munster centre Dan Goggin has been named on the Munster ‘A’ replacements bench for the first time.

Tickets can be purchased online here and will also be available at the gate on the night. Ticket prices: €;10 adult, €;3 junior, €;20 family pack (two adults and two juniors) (Junior – 16 or under).

MRSC Members and 10-Year Ticket holders will be admitted free of charge (on production of card), while entry is €;5 for Munster Rugby Season Ticket holders.

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Plymouth Albion): Ronan O’Mahony; Darren Sweetnam, Cian Bohane, Niall Kenneally, Alex Wootton; Johnny Holland, Gerry Hurley; Alan Cotter, Niall Scannell (capt), John Ryan, Ian Nagle, Billy Holland, David O’Callaghan, Barry O’Mahony, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Max Abbott, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Shane Buckley, Brian Haugh, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell.