Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland Under-19 Squad Announced For Australia Clash

Ireland Under-19 Squad Announced For Australia Clash

The Ireland Under-19 squad to face Australia Schools at Ravenhill on Saturday week (December 14) has been announced.

UCD have five players named in the squad (Ross Byrne, Billy Dardis, Sean McNulty, Josh Murphy and Garry Ringrose), while Methodist College also have five players included – Josh Bingham, Michael Lagan, Conor McKee, Alex Thompson and Stephen Weir.

Munster are represented in the squad by Frank Bradshaw Ryan (Shannon), Jack Cullen (Bruff) and Mike O’Donnell (Crescent College), while two Connacht players are named – Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians) and Rory Moloney (Buccaneers).

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There are two players who have come through the Exiles in the squad – Lorcan Dow (Queen’s University) and Piers O’Conor (Worthing). 

In-form Corinthians out-half Sean O’Hagan has been ruled out of the squad due to injury, and Conor Kyne (Galwegians) and Ross Todd (Sullivan Upper School) have been called in to provide additional cover.

The Ravenhill clash gets underway at 2.30pm and tickets are available from the Ulster Rugby website.

Adult tickets range from £9 to £20, while child tickets start at £5. A 15% saving is available on family tickets (two adults and children) and Season Ticket holders can avail of a 10% discount.

The Ireland Under-19s last played Australia at this age grade in 2009, losing the first fixture 31-14 in Belfield before winning the second match 15-0 at Cork IT a week later.

IRELAND UNDER-19 Squad (v Australia Schools, Ravenhill, Saturday, December 14 (kick-off 2.30pm):

Josh Bingham (Methodist College/Ulster)
Frank Bradshaw Ryan (Shannon RFC/Munster)
Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
Jack Cullen (Bruff RFC/Munster)
Billy Dardis (UCD/Leinster)
Lorcan Dow (Queen’s University/Ulster)
Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
James Gallagher (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
Oisin Heffernan (Cistercian College Roscrea/Leinster)
Michael Lagan (Methodist College/Ulster)
Jeremy Loughman (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Conor McKee (Methodist College/Ulster)
Sean McNulty (UCD/Munster)
Rory Moloney (Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
Josh Murphy (UCD/Leinster)
David O’Connor (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Piers O’Conor (Worthing RFC/Exile)
Mike O’Donnell (Crescent College/Munster)
Jack Owens (Campbell College/Ulster)
Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)
Alex Thompson (Methodist College/Ulster)
Stephen Weir (Methodist College/Ulster)
Conor Young (Instonians RFC/Ulster)
Ross Todd (Sullivan Upper School/Ulster)
Conor Kyne (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)