Jump to main content


First Step On Road To Rio For Women’s Sevens Squad

First Step On Road To Rio For Women’s Sevens Squad

First Step On Road To Rio For Women’s Sevens Squad

The Ireland Women’s squad to participate in the Emirates Dubai Rugby Sevens event this week – the first leg of the 2013/14 IRB Women’s Sevens World Series – has been named.

Ireland booked their place on the World Series circuit for the first time after reaching the Cup quarter-finals at the Rugby World Cup Sevens tournament in Moscow back in June.

The Dubai Sevens kicks off on Thursday, and fans will be able to follow the fortunes of the girls in green closely as all the action from Pitch 1 in the purpose built 7he Sevens Stadium will be streamed live on wsws.irb.com.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Jon Skurr’s new-look squad take on the USA, defending champions New Zealand and Fiji on the opening day.

Some members of Ireland’s Rugby World Cup Sevens squad are unavailable at present, so talented newcomers like Niamh Ni Dhroma and the Tralee trio of Christine Arthurs, Siobhan Barrett and Laura O’Mahony will get an opportunity to test themselves on the world stage.

Prolific try scorer Alison Miller is sure to be a watched woman given her scoring exploits in the Six Nations and Rugby World Cup Sevens – the Portlaoise flyer touched down three times in Moscow.

O’Mahony, Miller, Ashleigh Baxter, Nikki Caughey, Amy Davis, Shannon Houston and Larissa Muldoon were all part of the World Cup Sevens panel, with five of the Dubai squad featuring in the Grand Slam win earlier this year.

The girls in green prepared for Dubai with a series of weekend camps and invitational tournaments, including trips to the Netherlands and France.

To read an interview with head coach Jon Skurr, please click here. Details of the competing teams in the Men’s and Women’s events in Dubai are available here.

IRELAND WOMEN’S SEVENS Squad (Emirates Dubai Rugby Sevens, Dubai, UAE, November 28-29):

Christine Arthurs (Tralee/Connacht)
Siobhan Barrett (Tralee/Munster)
Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Anna Caplice (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Nikki Caughey (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Amy Davis (Blackrock College/Ulster)
Shannon Houston (Blackrock College/Leinster) (capt)
Claire Keohane (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Alison Miller (Portlaoise/UCC/Connacht)
Larissa Muldoon (UWIC/Exile)
Niamh Ni Dhroma (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Laura O’Mahony (Tralee/Munster)


Thursday, November 28 –

IRELAND v USA, 7he Sevens Stadium, 2.06pm local time/10.06am Irish time
IRELAND v New Zealand, 7he Sevens Stadium, 4.42pm local time/12.42pm Irish time
IRELAND v Fiji, 7he Sevens Stadium, 7.40pm local time/3.40pm Irish time

Friday, November 29 –

Cup, Bowl and Plate competitions (11.40am-9.16pm local time/7.40am-5.16pm Irish time)

Related Links –

IRB Women’s Sevens World Series

Dubai Rugby Sevens