Jump to main content


Sheridan To Skipper Munster ‘A’ In Cup Opener

Sheridan To Skipper Munster ‘A’ In Cup Opener

Head coach Peter Malone has named his Munster ‘A’ team for Saturday’s opening British & Irish Cup match against Scottish side Stirling County at Bandon RFC (kick-off 5pm).

The selected Munster ‘A’ squad includes a host of leading names with the inclusion of 13 senior players, four of whom have played at Heineken Cup level – Billy Holland, David O’Callaghan, Sean Dougall and Andrew Conway.

The west Cork support base will be glad to see Dunmanway man Darren Sweetnam start on the left wing in a dynamic back-line that includes Ronan O’Mahony who scored a hat-trick of tries against London Irish in the pre-season game.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Out-half Johnny Holland was ruled out during the week after picking up a groin injury and his place goes to his Academy colleague Rory Scannell who makes his British & Irish Cup debut, while Gearoid Lyons, named among the replacements, is called up to a Munster ‘A’ squad for the first time.

The club players included in the side are Dolphin’s Paddy Ryan, who starts in the front row, and Cork Constitution’s Max Abbott and Niall Kenneally who are both on bench duty. Sub Academy player Abbott most recently played for the Munster Under-20s.

It is a family affair for the Munster ‘A’ team on Saturday with two sets of brothers involved, both the O’Mahony and Scannell families will be well represented on the day.

In hosting the event Bandon RFC are officially launching the addition of their new floodlights and the event is supported by the Economic Development Fund of Cork County Council.

All support is welcome and there will be a cash entry at the gate with free admission to Munster Rugby Supporters Club members and ten year ticket holders, on presentation of card.

There is also a discounted rate available to Munster’s Season Ticket holders on presentation of the season ticket.

Supporters are please advised to arrive early – ticket prices are as follows: €;10 adult, €;3 junior and €;20 family pack (two adults/two juniors).

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Stirling County): Ronan O’Mahony; Andrew Conway, Ivan Dineen, Cian Bohane, Darren Sweetnam; Rory Scannell, Cathal Sheridan (capt); Alan Cotter, Niall Scannell, Paddy Ryan, Billy Holland, David Foley, David O’Callaghan, Sean Dougall, Shane Buckley.

Replacements: Max Abbott, John Ryan, Darren O’Shea, Barry O’Mahony, Brian Haugh, Gearoid Lyons, Niall Kenneally.