Jump to main content


Conway To Make His Munster Bow

Conway To Make His Munster Bow

An overnight camp in Limerick has helped the Munster squad get ready for the first of their SEAT Series pre-season matches against Gloucester at Thomond Park on Saturday (kick-off 5pm).

Some of Munster’s leading players have been included in the starting line-up to play Gloucester, with the province’s newest recruit Andrew Conway making his debut on the wing. He forms an experienced back-three with Denis Hurley and Johne Murphy.

The side will be captained by James Coughlan at number 8 and he is joined by CJ Stander and Niall Ronan in the back row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Donncha O’Callaghan returns to action after suffering a sprained knee against Leinster in April and he is named alongside Billy Holland in the second row.

Loosehead prop James Cronin, who was promoted from the Academy this summer, joins Mike Sherry and John Ryan in the front row.

Head coach Rob Penney has opted to go with an extended bench and will choose from a number of players available to him on the day.

Included on that list are a selection of club players – Mike Kelleher (Richmond), Niall Kenneally (UL Bohemians), Danny Kenny (UCD), Paddy Ryan (Highfield) and Willie Ryan (UCC) – and Academy players Shane Buckley and Johnny Holland, who have all participated in Munster’s pre-season training programme.

In addition, Ireland prop Stephen Archer is in line to make an appearance for the first time since April when he picked up a wrist injury against the Newport Gwent Dragons.

Munster v Gloucester tickers are available to buy online here from €;12 for adult terrace. Tickets will be available from Thomond Park from 9am on Saturday.

MUNSTER (v Gloucester): Denis Hurley; Andrew Conway, Casey Laulala, Ivan Dineen, Johne Murphy; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Mike Sherry, John Ryan, Donncha O’Callaghan, Billy Holland, CJ Stander, Niall Ronan, James Coughlan (capt).

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Duncan Casey, Alan Cotter, Stephen Archer, Paddy Ryan, Ian Nagle, Dave Foley, Danny Kenny, Willie Ryan, Shane Buckley, Barry O’Mahony, Cathal Sheridan, Gerry Hurley, JJ Hanrahan, Johnny Holland, Cian Bohane, Mike Kelleher, Niall Kenneally, Ronan O’Mahony.