Jump to main content


Head-To-Head: Ireland v USA

Head-To-Head: Ireland v USA

See below for a statistical preview of Saturday’s summer tour Test match between Ireland and the USA at the BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston (kick-off 7.45pm local time/1.45am Irish time).

2013 SUMMER TOUR: Saturday, June 8

USA v IRELAND, BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston, Texas, 7.45pm local time/1.45am Irish time (live TG4/www.tg4.tv worldwide stream)

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

USA: Chris Wyles (Saracens); Luke Hume (Old Blue), Seamus Kelly (University of California), Andrew Suniula (Chicago Griffins), Takudzwa Ngwenya (Biarritz Olympique); Toby L’Estrange (New York Athletic Club), Mike Petri (New York Athletic Club); Shawn Pittman (Dublin University), Chris Biller (San Francisco Golden Gate), Eric Fry (London Scottish), Brian Doyle (New York Athletic Club), Louis Stanfill (Vincenza Gers), Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints), Scott LaValla (Stade Francais), Todd Clever (NTT Shining Arcs) (capt).

Replacements: Zach Fenoglio (Old Mission Beach Athletic Club), Nick Wallace (St. Mary’s), Phil Thiel (Life), Peter Dahl (Belmont Shore), John Quill (Dolphin), Robbie Shaw (Richmond), James Paterson (Glendale Raptors), Adam Siddall (Old Blue).

IRELAND: Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht); Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Stuart Olding (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster); Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster), Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster); David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster), Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster), Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster), Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers/Connacht), Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster), Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster), Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) (capt).

Replacements: Mike Sherry (Garryowen/Munster), Tom Court (Malone/Ulster), Jamie Hagan (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster), Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster), Paul Marshall (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster), Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster).

Referee: Francisco Pastrana (Argentina)
Assistant Referees: Bryan Arciero, Chris Assmus (both Canada)


Played – 7
Ireland Won – 7
USA Won – 0

Ireland v USA: IRFU Stats Vault

Biggest Wins:

Ireland: Points & Margin: 83-3, 2000 Summer Tour


Individual Records In The Series:

Most Points In A Match: Ireland 20 (Keith Wood 1999, David Humphreys 2004); USA 8 (Matt Alexander 1996, Kevin Dalzell 1999)

Most Tries In A Match: Ireland 4 (Keith Wood 1999); USA 1 (Vaea Anitoni 1994, Andre Bachelet 1994, Richard Tardits 1996, Jason Walker 1996, Kevin Dalzell 1999, Roland Suniula 2009, Paul Emerick 2011)

USA – Form Guide From Start Of The 2012 Test Season:

Lost 28-25 v Canada away (Summer Series)
Won 36-20 v Georgia home (Summer Series)
Lost 30-10 v Italy home (Summer Series)
Won 40-26 v Russia neutral (IRB International Rugby Series)
Lost 22-13 v Tonga neutral (IRB International Rugby Series)
Won 34-3 v Romania away (Autumn Test)
Lost 16-9 v Canada away (IRB Pacific Nations Cup)

Ireland – Form Guide From Start Of The 2012 Six Nations:

Lost 23-21 v Wales home (Six Nations)
Won 42-10 v Italy home (Six Nations)
Drew 17-17 v France away (Six Nations)
Won 32-14 v Scotland home (Six Nations)
Lost 30-9 v England away (Six Nations)
Lost 42-10 v New Zealand away (Summer Tour)
Lost 22-19 v New Zealand away (Summer Tour)
Lost 60-0 v New Zealand away (Summer Tour)
Lost 16-12 v South Africa home (Autumn Series)
Won 46-24 v Argentina home (Autumn Series)
Won 30-22 v Wales away (Six Nations)
Lost 12-6 v England home (Six Nations)
Lost 12-8 v Scotland away (Six Nations)
Drew 13-13 v France home (Six Nations)
Lost 22-15 v Italy away (Six Nations)

USA – Most-Capped Players:

67 Mike MacDonald
62 Luke Gross
58 Alec Parker
53 Paul Emerick
53 Dave Hodges
49 Kort Schubert
48 Mike Hercus
46 Vaea Anitoni
46 Todd Clever
45 Dan Lyle
44 Tom Billups
42 Kevin Dalzell

USA – All-Time Leading Points Scorers:

465 Mike Hercus
286 Matt Alexander
144 Chris O’Brien
143 Mark Williams
130 Vaea Anitoni
109 Kevin Dalzell
101 Chris Wyles
100 Grant Wells
85 Paul Emerick

USA – All-Time Leading Try Scorers:

26 Vaea Anitoni
17 Paul Emerick
11 Todd Clever
10 Phillip Eloff
9 Takudzwa Ngwenya
9 David Fee
9 Mike Hercus
9 Riaan van Zyl
9 Chris Wyles

Ireland – Most-Capped Players:

128 Ronan O’Gara
125 Brian O’Driscoll
105 John Hayes
98 Peter Stringer
94 Donncha O’Callaghan
92 Malcolm O’Kelly
85 Paul O’Connell
82 Girvan Dempsey
73 Gordon D’Arcy
72 David Humphreys
72 David Wallace
72 Geordan Murphy
70 Kevin Maggs

Ireland – All-Time Leading Points Scorers:

1083 Ronan O’Gara
560 David Humphreys
308 Michael Kiernan
296 Eric Elwood
282 Jonathan Sexton
245 Brian O’Driscoll
217 Ollie Campbell
158 Tom Kiernan

Ireland – All-Time Leading Try Scorers:

46 Brian O’Driscoll
29 Denis Hickie
26 Tommy Bowe
21 Shane Horgan
19 Girvan Dempsey
18 Geordan Murphy
17 Brendan Mullin
16 Ronan O’Gara
15 Kevin Maggs
15 Keith Wood

World Rugby All-Time Top Points Scorers:

1385 Dan Carter (New Zealand)
1246 Jonny Wilkinson (1179-England, 67-Lions)
1090 Neil Jenkins (1049-Wales, 41-Lions)
1083 Ronan O’Gara (Ireland)
1010 Diego Dominguez (27-Argentina, 983-Italy)
970 Stephen Jones (917-Wales, 53-Lions)
967 Andrew Mehrtens (New Zealand)
911 Michael Lynagh (Australia)
893 Percy Montgomery (South Africa)
878 Matt Burke (Australia)
809 Chris Paterson (Scotland)

World Rugby All-Time Top Try Scorers:

64 David Campese (Australia)
60 Shane Williams (58-Wales, 2-Lions)
50 Rory Underwood (49-England, 1-Lions)
49 Doug Howlett (New Zealand)
47 Bryan Habana (South Africa)
47 Brian O’Driscoll (46-Ireland, 1-Lions)
46 Christian Cullen (New Zealand)
46 Joe Rokocoko (New Zealand)
44 Jeff Wilson (New Zealand)
41 Gareth Thomas (40-Wales, 1-Lions)
40 Chris Latham (Australia)

(Note: Daisuke Ohata scored 69 tries for Japan, but not all against major international opposition)

The ‘100 Caps’ Club:

139 George Gregan (Australia)
131 Brian O’Driscoll (125-Ireland, 6-Lions)
130 Ronan O’Gara (128-Ireland, 2-Lions)
119 Jason Leonard (114-England, 5-Lions)
118 Fabien Pelous (France)
116 Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
116 Nathan Sharpe (Australia)
111 Philippe Sella (France)
111 John Smit (South Africa)
110 George Smith (Australia)
110 Victor Matfield (South Africa)
110 Stephen Jones (104-Wales, 6-Lions)
109 Chris Paterson (Scotland)
107 John Hayes (105-Ireland, 2-Lions)
104 Martyn Williams (100-Wales, 4-Lions)
103 Gareth Thomas (100-Wales, 3-Lions)
103 Gethin Jenkins (98-Wales, 5-Lions)
103 Andrea Lo Cicero (Italy)
102 Percy Montgomery (South Africa)
102 Stephen Larkham (Australia)
102 Keven Mealamu (New Zealand)
101 David Campese (Australia)
101 Alessandro Troncon (Italy)
100 Mils Muliaina (New Zealand)