Jump to main content


PWC logo

Six Changes For Ireland Under-19s

Six Changes For Ireland Under-19s

Ireland Under-19 head coach Colin McEntee has made six changes in personnel for their international clash with France in Montargis on Saturday (kick-off 4.30pm local time/3.30pm Irish time).

Given the closeness of the two fixtures, the Irish management have opted to make changes in the back-line and up front – including a completely new front row.

Jacob Walshe, Rory Burke and Shane Delahunt, who all saw action in the second half of the England game, will scrum down from the start against the French.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Castleknock College’s Jack O’Neill will line out at openside flanker, replacing the benched Joe Bercis, with Sean O’Brien, who was in talismanic form during the 16-15 loss to England, captaining Ireland once again from the second row.

In the backs, David Johnston from UL Bohemians comes in at full-back with Cian Kelleher moving to the left wing to take over from Ian Fitzpatrick who is listed among the replacements.

Rockwell College’s Rory Parata also slots in at out-half alongside his Connacht colleague Caolin Blade, with Conor McKeon the player to make way.

IRELAND UNDER-19 Team & Replacements (v France Under-19s, Under-19 International Match, Stade Champfleuri, Montargis, Saturday, April 6, kick-off 4.30pm local time/3.30pm Irish time):

15 – David Johnston (UL Bohemians/Munster)
14 – Ross Adair (Queen’s University/Ulster)
13 – Rory O’Loughlin (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
12 – Peter Robb (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
11 – Cian Kelleher (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
10 – Rory Parata (Rockwell College/Connacht)
9 – Caolin Blade (Monivea/Connacht)
1 – Jacob Walshe (CC Roscrea/Connacht)
2 – Shane Delahunt (Kilkenny College/Leinster)
3 – Rory Burke (CBC Cork/Munster)
4 – Sean O’Brien (CC Roscrea/Connacht) (capt)
5 – Ross Molony (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
6 – Ben Alexander (Queen’s University/Ulster)
7 – Jack O’Neill (Castleknock College/Leinster)
8 – Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemians/Munster)


16 – Max Abbott (PBC Cork/Munster)
17 – Ross Kane (Methodist College/Ulster)
18 – Saba Meunargia (Marist College/Connacht)
19 – Darragh Moloney (CBC Cork/Munster)
20 – Joe Bercis (Bedford Blues/Exile)
21 – Ryan Foley (CBC Cork/Munster)
22 – Conor McKeon (Gonzaga College/Leinster)
23 – Ian Fitzpatrick (King’s Hospital/Leinster)

Management Team –

Head Coach – Colin McEntee
Team Manager – Barney McGonigle
Assistant Coach (Backs) – Nigel Carolan
Baggage Master – Pat Downey
Doctor – Tim O’Flanagan
Video Analyst – Vinny Hammond
Physio – Barry Smith
Strength & Conditioning Coach – Sami Dowling