Jump to main content


Connacht Name Team For Munster Clash

Connacht Name Team For Munster Clash

Connacht head coach Eric Elwood has announced his team to face Munster in Saturday’s RaboDirect PRO12 derby tie at Musgrave Park (kick-off 5.45pm).

For the westerners’ trip south to Cork, here are just two personnel changes to the team that beat Zebre in the last round of the competition.


Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the back-line, David McSharry returns to the starting line-up for the first time since the Heineken Cup pool encounter with Zebre in mid-January. He partners Eoin Griffin in the centre.


Dan Parks, who has kicked 100 league points this season, is named in a half-back pairing with Connacht Academy graduate Kieran Marmion.


Robbie Henshaw starts at full-back in a back-three with skipper Gavin Duffy and this season’s leading try scorer Danie Poolman.


Up front, George Naoupu comes into the fray this week, joining Michael Kearney in the second row. Naoupu replaces Andrew Browne who moves to blindside flanker, while John Muldoon starts at number 8.


Ireland international Mike McCarthy is named in the matchday squad and is set to earn his 150th cap for Connacht should he be called upon on Saturday evening in Cork.


Connacht have won four of their last five RaboDirect PRO12 games including victories in their last three matches against the Ospreys, Cardiff Blues and Zebre. A win against Munster would make it four in-a-row for the first time since 2002.

CONNACHT (v Munster): Robbie Henshaw; Danie Poolman, Eoin Griffin, David McSharry, Gavin Duffy (capt); Dan Parks, Kieran Marmion; Brett Wilkinson, Jason Harris-Wright, Nathan White, Michael Kearney, George Naoupu, Andrew Browne, Willie Faloon, John Muldoon.


Replacements: Adrian Flavin, Denis Buckley, Ronan Loughney, Mike McCarthy, Eoin McKeon, Paul O’Donohoe, Miah Nikora, Fetu’u Vainikolo.