Jump to main content


Army Training For Women’s Squad

Army Training For Women’s Squad

The Ireland Women’s squad paid a visit to the Irish Army Camp in the Curragh last Saturday to aid in their preparation for this year’s Six Nations campaign. Sgt. Mick Mulcahy and his team in the PE department put their players through their paces on the assault course where the focus was on communication, team work and fitness.

The session was physically and mentally demanding on the players who now go onto play Spain in an uncapped match this coming Sunday. The match will kick off at 12pm in Ashbourne RFC and all support is welcome on the day.

Head coach Philip Doyle has named a 26-strong squad squad for the warm-up match ahead of this year’s eagerly-awaited Championship.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Speaking ahead of the match, team captain Fiona Coghlan said: “Playing Spain as a warm-up match for the Six Nations is a fantastic opportunity for us as a squad.

“It will allow us to see where we are as a squad and give players the opportunity to really put their hands up for selection.

“Whilst we train as we play and the intensity over the past number of weeks has been very high, it’s is extremely beneficial to be able to play a match against another national side.

“I’ve no doubt that Spain will be tough opposition for us and will really challenge us on the field, so we’re very much looking forward to getting out there next Sunday.”

IRELAND WOMEN’S Squad (v Spain, Ashbourne RFC, Sunday, January 20, 12pm):

Backs (12) – Alison Miller (Connacht), Amy Davis (Ulster), Ashleigh Baxter (Ulster), Ashling Hutchings (Munster), Grace Davitt (Ulster), Jenny Murphy (Leinster), Larissa Muldoon (Exile), Lynne Cantwell (Exile), Niamh Kavanagh (Munster), Niamh Briggs (Munster), Nicole Fitzgerald (Munster), Shannon Houston (Leinster).

Forwards (14) – Ailis Egan (Leinster), Claire Molloy (Exile), Fiona Coghlan (Leinster) (capt), Fiona Hayes (Munster), Gillian Bourke (Munster), Heather O’Brien (Munster), Joy Neville (Munster), Laura Guest (Munster), Lauren Day (Exile), Leigh Dargan (Exile), Marie Louise Reilly (Leinster), Siobhan Fleming (Munster), Sophie Spence (Exile), Stacey-Lea Kennedy (Ulster).