Jump to main content


Changes Made To Connacht Eagles Team

Changes Made To Connacht Eagles Team

While the province’s senior squad are on the road to face the Dragons in the RaboDirect PRO12, the Connacht Eagles will take on Leinster ‘A’ at the Sportsground on Friday (kick-off 5pm).

Following on from the tough battle with Newcastle Falcons last month in round 2 of the British & Irish Cup, Connacht Eagles head coach Nigel Carolan has made a host of changes for Friday’s fixture.

Mark McCrea and recent Academy signing Steve Macauley are named on the wings, while scrum half Paul O’Donohoe makes a welcome return to a Connacht starting line-up.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Flanker Eoghan Grace will captain the side and is joined in the back row by former Ireland Under-20 internationals David Heffernan and Aaron Conneely.

Carolan is looking forward to the game, stating: “With round 3 of both the Heineken Cup and British & Irish Cup in just two weeks’ time, this is a great opportunity to give players a run-out and have a look at different options.”

Connacht Season Ticket holders can gain free entry to the grounds for Friday’s Connacht Eagles v Leinster ‘A’ match in Galway.

CONNACHT EAGLES (v Leinster ‘A’): Matthew Jarvis; Mark McCrea, Conor Finn, Brian Murphy, Steve Macauley; Jack Carty, Paul O’Donohoe; Brett Wilkinson, Kevin O’Byrne, JP Cooney, Ultan Dillane, Jonathan Gardiner, David Heffernan, Eoghan Grace (capt), Aaron Conneely.

Replacements: Kurt Haupt, Paul Griffin, Peter Reilly, Brian McClearn, Paul Maxwell, Chris Lilly, Tadhg Leader, Callum Boland.