Jump to main content


Leinster ‘A’ Team Named For Connacht Fixture

Leinster ‘A’ Team Named For Connacht Fixture

The Leinster ‘A’ team to face Connacht Eagles in Friday’s ‘A’ interprovincial match at the Sportsground in Galway (kick-off 5pm) has been named.

As preparations build up ahead of the resumption of the British & Irish Cup, Conor Gilsenan leads a young Leinster ‘A’ team for the trip west.

Though the province can call upon Tom Denton, who has stepped up his recovery from injury to take his place in the second row, the selected side is largely sourced from the Academy and Under-20 squads who featured in the interprovincial series earlier this season.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There are some exciting combinations in the side, with Jordan Coghlan continuing at inside centre and ex-St. Michael’s College duo Cathal Marsh and Luke McGrath linking up at half-back.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Connacht Eagles): Adam Byrne; Andrew Boyle, Rory O’Loughlin, Jordan Coghlan, Max McFarland; Cathal Marsh, Luke McGrath; James Tracy, Bryan Byrne, Tadhg Furlong, Tadhg Beirne, Tom Denton, Ben Marshall, Conor Gilsenan (capt), Jack Conan.

Replacements: Tyrone Moran, Shane Delahunt, Jamie Lawless, Jerry Sexton, Josh van der Flier, David Shanahan, Steve Crosbie, Tom Daly, Eoghan Quinn, Eoghan Masterson.