Jump to main content


Argentina Make Four Changes

Argentina Make Four Changes

Argentina head coach Santiago Phelan has made four changes in personnel for Saturday’s GUINNESS Series Test against Ireland at the Aviva Stadium (kick-off 2pm).

The Pumas arrived in Dublin on the back of a 39-22 defeat to France in Lille, and will be looking to recapture the form which saw them overcome Wales at the start of their European tour.

Juan Martin Hernandez, the most experienced of the backs with 38 caps, returns at full-back having missed the French game with a thigh strain.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Exeter-based Gonzalo Camacho also slots in on the right wing, replacing the sidelined Horacio Agulla, with Santiago Fernandez joining Marcelo Bosch in the centre.

Argentina’s only change in the forwards sees Montpellier’s Maximiliano Bustos drafted in for his Test debut at tighthead prop. The tourists will be captained once more by 51-times capped flanker Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe.

Speaking about his squad’s preparations for their final match of the year, head coach Santiago Phelan said: “The Ireland players are fresh because most didn’t play last week. But for us it’s good to be together. We can continue working on what we want to do in every game.

“The recovery was important this week. We did short sessions and a lot of analysis as it’s our third game (of the tour) and there is a little bit of tiredness.

“But we have a lot of confidence. We’ve enjoyed it a lot being together on the field and in the hotel.”

ARGENTINA Team & Replacements (v Ireland, 2012 GUINNESS Series, Aviva Stadium, Saturday, November 24, kick-off 2pm):

15 – Juan Martin Hernandez (Racing Metro 92)
14 – Gonzalo Camacho (Exeter Chiefs)
13 – Marcelo Bosch (Biarritz Olympique)
12 – Santiago Fernandez (Montpellier)
11 – Juan Imhoff (Racing Metro 92)
10 – Nicolas Sanchez (Bordeaux Begles)
9 – Martin Landajo (CASI)
1 – Marcos Ayerza (Leicester Tigers)
2 – Eusebio Guinazu (Unattached)
3 – Maximiliano Bustos (Montpellier)
4 – Manuel Carizza (Jockey Club Rosario)
5 – Julio Farias Cabello (Tucuman)
6 – Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (Toulon) (capt)
7 – Juan Manuel Leguizamon (Lyon)
8 – Leonardo Senatore (Gimnasia Rosario)


16 – Agustin Creevy (Montpellier)
17 – Nahuel Lobo (Montpellier)
18 – Francisco Gomez Kodela (Biarritz Olympique)
19 – Tomas Vallejos (Scarlets)
20 – Tomas Leonardi (SIC)
21 – Nicolas Vergallo (Toulouse)
22 – Gonzalo Tiesi (SIC)
23 – Manuel Montero (Pucara)