Jump to main content



Fiji Make Changes For Thomond Park Trip

Fiji Make Changes For Thomond Park Trip

Fiji head coach Inoke Male has announced his starting line-up and replacements for Saturday’s non-cap international against an Ireland XV at Thomond Park (kick-off 5.30pm).

From the Fijian side that lost 54-12 to England at Twickenham, there are five personnel changes and three positional switches.

Centre Josh Matavesi and out-half Jonetani Ralulu come into the tourists’ back-line, with Metuisela Talebula and Simeli Koniferedi moving positions to full-back and the right wing respectively.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Jerry Yanuyanutawa replaces Ratu Makutu at loosehead prop in an otherwise unchanged front row, with captain Deacon Manu from the Scarlets on the tighthead side of the scrum.

Api Naikatini shifts from blindside flanker to the second row, while Iliesa Ratuva and Nemani Nagusa have been added to the back row.

Fiji head coach Inoke Male has included five British-based players from the off – Worcester’s Matavesi and Vereniki Govena of Leicester in the centre, Glasgow Warriors scrum half Nikola Matawalu and props Yanuyanutawa (London Irish) and Manu.

Goneva, Matavesi, hooker Viliame Veikoso and lock Leone Nakawara are the only survivors from the Fijian team that lost 41-6 to Ireland at the RDS three years ago.

FIJI Team & Replacements (v Ireland XV, 2012 GUINNESS Series, Thomond Park, Saturday, November 17, kick-off 5.30pm):

15 – Metuisela Talebula (Bordeaux Begles)
14 – Simeli Koniferedi (Nadroga)
13 – Vereniki Govena (Leicester Tigers)
12 – Josh Matavesi (Worcester Warriors)
11 – Watisoni Votu (Lautoka)
10 – Jonetani Ralulu (Nadroga)
9 – Nikola Matawalu (Glasgow Warriors)
1 – Jerry Yanuyanutawa (London Irish)
2 – Viliame Veikoso (Suva)
3 – Deacon Manu (Scarlets) (capt)
4 – Leone Nakarawa (Tailevu)
5 – Api Naikatini (Toyota Verblitz)
6 – Iliesa Ratuva (Nadroga)
7 – Malakai Ravulo (North Harbour)
8 – Nemani Nagusa (Nadroga)


16 – Tuapati Talemaitoga (Southland)
17 – Manasa Saulo (Suva)
18 – Setefano Somoca (Nadroga)
19 – Apisalome Ratuniyarawa (North Harbour)
20 – Jovili Domolailai (Pau)
21 – Kelemedi Bola (Lautoka)
22 – Saula Radidi (Tailevu)/Ravai Fatiaki (Worcester Warriors)
23 – Timoci Matanavou (Toulouse)