Jump to main content


Hanrahan And Stringer At Half-Back For Munster ‘A’

Hanrahan And Stringer At Half-Back For Munster ‘A’

Munster ‘A’ head coach Ian Costello will take a strong squad to Dublin on Thursday for the interprovincial clash with Leinster ‘A’ at Donnybrook (kick-off 2.30pm).

The selected Munster ‘A’ side includes Felix Jones at full-back, Johne Murphy on the right wing and the particularly interesting pairing at half-back of Peter Stringer and recent senior debutant JJ Hanrahan.

Last time Munster ‘A’ travelled to Dublin, they ended Leinster’s hopes of British & Irish Cup glory with an extra-time try from prop David Kilcoyne giving them a 36-29 semi-final victory.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Kilcoyne, of course, under the guidance of scrum coach Paul McCarthy, has since progressed to the Ireland squad and is expected to be named in the Ireland XV side for their non-cap clash with Fiji this weekend.

So this time around, it is James Cronin who will bed down alongside Sean Henry and Christy Condon in the Munster ‘A’ front row with Ian Nagle and David Foley directly behind them.

Hanrahan’s Ireland Under-20 colleague Shane Buckley is at blindside flanker with the experienced though youthful Tommy O’Donnell at openside and the even more youthful Paddy Butler captaining the team from the base of the scrum.

Shannon prop Kevin Griffin is the only non-contracted player in the squad, although he did play for Munster ‘A’ in the 19-17 win over Ulster Ravens in September.

With a return match against the Ravens in Limerick now cancelled, Thursday’s encounter will act as a lead-in to the Munster ‘A’ side’s British & Irish Cup round 3 game away to Rotherham Titans on December 8.

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Leinster ‘A’): Felix Jones; Johne Murphy, Danny Barnes, Ivan Dineen, Ronan O’Mahony; JJ Hanrahan, Peter Stringer; James Cronin, Sean Henry, Christy Condon, David Foley, Ian Nagle, Shane Buckley, Tommy O’Donnell, Paddy Butler (capt).

Replacements: Duncan Casey, John Ryan, Kevin Griffin, Brian Hayes, Philip Donnellan, Ryan Murphy, Duncan Williams, Scott Deasy, Cian Bohane.