Jump to main content


Stringer Included In Munster ‘A’ Line-Up

Stringer Included In Munster ‘A’ Line-Up

In ringing the changes for the Munster ‘A’ team’s second British & Irish Cup pool game, head coach Ian Costello has the luxury of being able to call on the province’s most capped player and a host of others with RaboDirect PRO12 experience.

Peter Stringer has nearly 230 Munster caps to his credit and last weekend was in Paris with the senior squad, but this Saturday he will bring his considerable experience to a Munster ‘A’ side who will be at short odds to take the points from Aberavon.

The Welsh club were narrowly beaten by Rotherham Titans in their pool opener, while the defending British & Irish Cup champions had two tries from Corey Hircock in their 26-22 win at Plymouth Albion.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

For the round 2 clash at Tralee RFC (kick-off 1pm), Stringer will combine with Scott Deasy at half-back with the fit-again Luke O’Dea lining out at full-back.

Local favourite Danny Barnes is at outside centre and Hircock will be hoping to continue his try-scoring exploits on the left wing.

All in all, it is a pretty potent looking back-line and there is no shortage of experience up front in the shape of second rowers Dave Foley and Ian Nagle and a particularly seasoned back row of David O’Callaghan, a second half replacement against Racing Metro, Barry O’Mahony and Tommy O’Donnell.

There will be cash entry at the gate on Saturday with the following prices: Adults €;10, Junior €;3, Season and 10-Year Ticket Holders €;5 (Please show valid season ticket).

Admission is free of charge for Munster Rugby Supporters Club members – please show membership card on entry.

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Aberavon): Luke O’Dea; Ronan O’Mahony, Danny Barnes, Cian Bohane, Corey Hircock; Scott Deasy, Peter Stringer; Alan Cotter, Sean Henry (capt), John Ryan, Ian Nagle, David Foley, David O’Callaghan, Barry O’Mahony, Tommy O’Donnell.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, Christy Condon, Brian Hayes, Shane Buckley, Cathal Sheridan, Johnny Holland, Ivan Dineen.